My Experiences With Immigration Officers And Other Natives.

in LeoFinance9 days ago

iMarkup_20240425_024538.jpg

image Source

Introduction

One of our local adage is that Traveler is well experienced and knowledgeable than non-traveler's which is true because of my lesson, experiences and knowledge shared between diverse cultures, people and ethnic involved. Traveling can truly be enjoyable and fun as one get to know more and hobbies for many.

During Renaissance periods in Medieval Europe, Those Sea farers and merchant that explore many new lands and culture came back with vast knowledge and rewards than others. They are worship and praise than their kings and still have their names in gold till now. Examples like Christopher Columbus and host of others are very remarkable and their contributions towards the development of the then known world.

Truly, I have not been outside the shores of my country, Nigeria but she is indeed a vast country with many lands, rivers, mountains and millions of people from over 375 cultural diversities and 500 languages. Being in any part of the country mean that you will be with other natives and interact with them friendly. Many reasons have motivated me to be with others and learn from their unique ways of doing things and languages. Let me share some with you.

After schooling, it is mandatory that young school leavers will serve their fatherland for one year in other part of nation than his/her native. With this program, many people get oriented with others and interact with others freely and friendly. During my service years, I was posted to the western part of the nation being majority of the Yoruba people of Nigeria.

Honestly, it was a blessing and wonderful lesson ever for me. I'm Igbo and have spent almost my years in the eastern part of the nation being at the western for heartbreathing experience. First of all, I will pass through the River Niger bridge, A favorite and only gateway between the west and the eastern part of the nation. It was so thrilling to see the majestic river Niger and how it contribute towards the development of the nation although it's potential still underutilized.

Getting to the western part took us over six hours depending on the nature of the road and vehicle employed for the task. Passing through many cities and places that we have heard in stories and read on books was very thrilling and educative. Having the opportunity to be with them and share some amenities is truly amazing experiences that I enjoyed.

Being with the yorubans, it's very good because I learned their friendliness and hospitality which was far from what the media and dishonest politicians projected. They keep dividing the unity and peace of the people through their selfish ideas and strategies so as to win and continue to rule over us. They welcomed me very well and ready to teach me their language which was difficult at first but thrilling when I began to pick some words. They always want to hear my views on several issues and enjoying when we understand each other.

After my service year, I decided to stay with them because of the love of the town and people. I moved to the Abeokuta suburbans and the town is very bustling and best place to stay. I really appreciate their ways of marriage and view of entertainment. Everyone have equal rights in the marriage and other family members are ready to help the young couple in the preparation of the wedding procedure and in their wedded life unlike my people that think it's only when one is "fully" ready for such lifestyle can attain to that. Their bride price is relatively cheaper and marriage procedures is simple too. I appreciate their understanding and support towards their successful events.

In the aspects of entertainment, they are very cultural and enjoy themselves freely. Their events are very colorful and they are ready to spent their money every weekend to enjoy themselves unlike my people that take lives very serious and view it as unending too. Trying their spicy food especially their form of Nigeria jellof rice is very thrilling, it will taste as if it's only pepper is the ingredients but it's better than other forms of jellof rice because there's many assorted meat for the pleasure time. They prefer meat than anything else even drinks which I loved too.

As a business merchant, I travel to other part of the nation, get my goods mostly food stuff and grains from the hinterland and sell in the cities. I have traveled to over ten states out of thirty six states or regions of the nation. I have passed their borders and had interactive medium with officers in charge of protection. Being at Badagry, a coastal town in the western part of the nation that shared border with other African countries like Togo and Ghana, we were checked casually and the experience was thrilling. Kudos to those officers that are working hard to protect our nation.

Although not all the officials are friendly and nice, my experience at the only freeway existing in Nigeria that cut across several northern states towards the eastern part was not interesting. They were very rude and unfriendly. They are ready to embarrass one at ease and their actions are scaring because of their guns in a supposed civilized nation.

Finally

Traveling and being with other natives is very important as well as very thrilling. Learning from them and exchange your ideas with them sound amazing and very exciting too. I enjoy it and view it as fun.

This post is in line with the #inleo prompt for the month of April and respond for the invitation from my friend @herculead for the support of #aprilinleo project on intercultural exchange.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @sammyhive! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 45000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP