You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chamath Palihapitiya and Mark Cuban Revealed Their Criteria For Social Network in Crypto

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Perhaps what we are missing is a viral marketing and exponential growth. But seeing more and more interest in alternative social networking solutions, this will also come in due time. Maybe slower growth is healthier for the ecosystem.

I think, Blocktrades team and others working on the development are not interested on marketing aspect and I see that as a huge difference. We are building something without a vision on how to promote or sell the idea to the world. And assuming slower growth is healthy is not true over a long period of time. We are past one year, after the new birth.

Sort:  

If you think about it, what Blocktrades and their team does for Hive is just incredible. In fact, if it wasn't for Blocktrades I am not sure Hive would even be possible. They are super talented and skillful when it comes to blockchain technologies, and having blocktrades as part of the core blockchain team is awesome. That is probably the most important part of this idea and journey we call Hive. Blocktrades do what they are really good at that is core blockchain development. They have been working on blockchain technologies even before Hive. So it is great for all of us Hive participants and believers in decentralized social media to have them as part of the community. Since they are mainly skillful and knowledgable about software, I doubt they have are specialized in marketing. I am sure they would welcome any marketing ideas and efforts. In decentralized Hive it is up-to the rest of the community to engage in marketing and come up with innovative ideas to spread the word of Hive.

That said, I think we have accomplished a lot within just one year. It is really impressive. I believe there are more good things to come our way. At the same time I do understand internal struggles and difficulties we face as a decentralized community. But we can overcome the challenges and keep building the future of the web. I am optimistic.

Since they are mainly skillful and knowledgeable about software, I doubt they have are specialized in marketing.

Seems so, because I had some conversations directly with him. But then who is going to lead that effort is the question.

I believe @lordbutterfly is leading the marketing efforts (but I'm a very new Hiver, and may be incorrect.)

Still, it may be worth checking out his profile as his marketing proposal did secure funding.