How Much will the Hive Posting Activity Spike?!

in LeoFinance2 years ago

We all know it is coming. The surge in activity on hive now that price has pumped. It happened back in the day (with that other coin we don't talk about) and it is bound to happen again.

Posts are getting good money, so now it has the attention of people again.

I bet we see posts from people that we haven't seen post in more than a year.

Now this isn't to say I'm hating on that, it is entertaining for sure and as long as the content is valued add why not?

We will see rewards raping though as I'm already witnessing accounts make a comment on tons of posts just to upvote themselves.

Sometimes I feel like a sucker for not doing these things, it would have likely added alot of rewards over the years, but it may have also lost some regular votes. It probably all works out in the end, right?

26,000 posts/comments is the rough average of late. We shall see what it looks like over the next week

You can see the below chart courtesy of @penguinpablo as he produces these states regularly.

How Much Will Activity Spike?

image.png

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

People who haven't posted for years posting again, I'm not hating on that.

Me neither, I will give them some kind of vote, for sure.

If you see any outright abuse do let me know, I know enough people on here with large enough stakes capable of wiping out most jerk-rewards.

But if it gets systemic, that maybe a challenge!

What do you think of the trending page lately?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

3/10.

While there's no outright abuse it's the same old same old on there - there's no way anything TM writes should ever be on trending for example, just picking him as the most obvious example, same goes for most of that stuff.

But, it's better than it was and once you get down the first few there is some diversity. So hence 3/10.

Agree. I guess we'll never overcome this phase... A bit better than what Steemit used to be, probably mostly due to voting bots being abolished.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Keeping my eye out for sure!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Really accounts are commenting to just upvote themselves??
I thought everyone was past upvoting themselves.

SMH...
I guess an increase in price makes people crazy.

It makes me miss the 10c - 25c days of a summer long past.

:)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I missed those days as soon as they were gone, as it meant I couldn't buy nearly as much. I was in the process of finally increasing my HP to a decent amount when it started going up past a dime. Ah well, so it goes.

Agreed. I didn't buy enough back then.
Your bio says expat living in Japan. How long??
I love Japan.

I'm happy to hear that. Japan is a great place! I've been here close to 20 years now. It never gets old.

There will always be new people and people gaming the system. So goes society.

Truth!!
much !LUV

"Crystal Liu" is probably back at it with dozens of puppet accounts.

If you see an account comment farming you can report them here: https://hivewatchers.com/reports/new

This type of abuse only grows if folks don't step up and flag it.

Self-voting was uncool even before HIVE split from STEEM. The folks who hide abuse under self-voted self-replu comment trees especially need to be slapped down.

The value of the upvotes is astronomic and now the people will want to make the most of the rewards. What might be beneficial for this ecosystem is that the HIVE that will be earned, might be poured back into projects like Splinterlands or Leo and CUB Finance. And this will simply generate a cycling growth of this ecosystem!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

What could be pumping Hive price? I suppose not only the post, but someone must be buying lots and lots of Hive. Could it be institutions that want to get into Splinteralnds?

Good question, it's still over $2. I guess we will find out soon. I try to post a couple of posts a week as a rule.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

On the increased activity front, I kinda like seeing some old faces show up again; people who once were significant contributors of quality/interesting content and then slowly stopped posting, for this reason or that. They will always get an upvote and a welcoming comment from me, and encouragement to "return to the fold" and be part of things for a while, again.

A bunch of serial comment self-voters is a lot less welcome, but they tend to be somewhat minor stake holders who can easily be shown their activities are unwelcome, via a few well-placed flags.

Agreed, have seen some old faces that were missed. There is good and bad to everything.

When the price comes back, interest goes up! I'm really glad, things were getting pretty stagnant for a while, I welcome all the steadies, but also those who come back for a second look and noobs as well!

Good times!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The more attention the better :-)

That's true, happens every time.

Can't wait for "I'll follow you and you follow me back" type of comments.

Perhaps that would mark the beginning of a bull bias.

Not sure if I'm thrilled tho 🤣🤣

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Their will be more people that comes because of the money and that is normal people love good projects that's is rewarding.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Been around these traps a few times - bring it on.

Now this isn't to say I'm hating on that, it is entertaining for sure and as long as the content is valued add why not?

Same here.

I believe as well that many dead accounts will awaken. It would be nice for all to be active all time, like in marriage, but hard to accomplish that.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I've been thinking for weeks to make my first post in a very very long time. Now I need to hold off a bit to avoid looking desperate. 😄

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

LMAO, good to see you! Post away man!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta