You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shittokens

in LeoFinance2 years ago

Was thinking about tokenizing Cross Culture in the beginning but I felt it was a big responsibility that I wasn’t ready to take on. I’d feel awful if people lost people money because I didn’t have the time or energy to keep building up the community.

Sort:  

Yeah that's definitely an issue long term. I remember when I came up with the idea for Hive pets and a curator volunteered to maintain it, just for the sake of the long term uncertainty I asked him if he would be okay if the community accounts keys would stay within ocd. (we don't have direct access to them but they were passed onto another curator who is still with us thus allowing the community to continue living on). So maybe the solution to that would be multisig to the community account.

Oh hell yeah!

I remember that whole key-sharing thing go wrong in an epic fashion so many times.

The feelings, sentiments and securities of today may not be forever. Even with the best intentions and greatest positive will in the world. It can be more of a security thing than a human thing.

I didn't even realise multisig could be used in this way, (I just searched it lol), therein lies another huge part of the problem, there's a heck of a lot of people like me around. People who love the DC and censorship resistant aspect but are sadly lacking in the technical practicalities.

As for the greater premise of the post, 'sellsellsell like it's 2008' mentality of many here, scuppers the vision of those heavily invested, (I don't mean financially) in projects, communities and tokenisation efforts.

I do 100% believe that mid to long term, genuine utility will be the huge turning point that sees a very different trajectory to most tokenisation efforts we have witnessed.