Hive or Bitcoin?

in LeoFinance3 years ago

When Hive Power-Up Day rolls around, it's never an easy choice. Do I buy Hive? Do I buy Bitcoin? Today, Hive has won the play. Here is why.

BTC Goal Met

I have purchased enough BTC to know things will be alright in the future. I could accumulate more. However, there is no pressure. At the moment, my BTC is earning yield. So, it's not a zero-sum game.

Hive has held its value

Even with BTC fluctuations, Hive has done a fair job of keeping its gains. While Hive is not completely uncorrelated to BTC, it seems to want to chart its own course. Therefore, I am less concerned about a price dump.

Hive is working capital

Unlike BTC, which is a pure hodl play, Hive is more like working capital. Powering up on Hive increases my capacity to earn from my efforts. If this were a business, it would be like buying a piece of equipment that would increase my productivity. In this regard, powering up is like turning up the dial to 11.

Hive goals

I'm still trying to reach 10,000 Hive. Call me crazy. Once I reach that goal, I'll shift my focus to alt accounts. From a security perspective, it's dangerous to have your net worth on display to the world. In some parts of the world, this could get you or a family member kidnapped and ransomed. At some point, I'll have to move my Hive holdings into an anonymous account. For now, 10,000 Hive seems like a safe amount to hodl out in the open.

Congratulations and good luck to all you other Hive Power Up Day participants.


Originally posted on Shaine Mata. Hive blog powered by ENGRAVE.

Sort:  

I suppose that many people have a similar dilemma as you and I'm one among others, too... There is no ideal answer to it, but if you create goals for different coins and stick to your plan, then you are doing it right...
I look at BTC as a store of value and use it like gold... keeping it for a long term and leave somewhere in my wallet... On the other side, I use HIVE to earn more crypto... So, it's a kind of "utility token" for me as I'm using it to gain more of it... :)


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project and it will be highlighted in the next post!

Comment Footer.jpg

From time to time, I might even buy both, budget permitting.

Hive hasn’t held its value is been losing value in Satoshis since it’s launch! You cannot measure growth in USD if they printed 32% more in the last 2 years all yoi seeing us unit inflation not value increase

Dammit. You're right. I forgot about that.

I used to be able to check in dollars and satoshis on the crypto.com app. But, they removed Hive tracking some time ago. I haven't found a convenient substitute.

I have been using @coingecko you can check all coins in Sats! It will show you some pretty shocking results

Screen Shot 2021-09-01 at 2.17.49 AM.png

Checking the BTC box?

Screenshot 2021-09-01 at 11.13.54.png

I found the setting. Thanks.

Congratulations @shainemata! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the Hive Power Up Month - Let's grow every day!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Congratulations @shainemata! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the Hive Power Up Month - Let's grow every day!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Bitcoin - always,
Hive - sometimes.


Visit my blogs: africanlottery.net, pcsodraw.com