You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Creeping Inequality in Hive - Inevitable when people don't buy in....?

in LeoFinance2 years ago

I think this is one measure, but not the only one and certainly not one on its own that would prevent me from continue to hodl and invest.
HIVE has great people involved in it, a large number of developers, a great long list of witnesses and lots of things happening. We also have this amazing facility (blogging) where everyone can learn from each other.
Like me, you've been to HiveFest and met many of the activists and supporters behind HIVE. I agree, sometimes the long-term vision and purpose of Hive gets obscured or lost in the everyday, but it's still there, and still a contributory factor to being here.
There's always churn on social media and digital media platforms generally and HIVE is very young. It won't suit lots of people, but that's okay, good to see them, perhaps they will come back in the future.
Meanwhile, my plans for a passive retirement income are already coming to fruition, with HIVE at less than a dollar, and without having to do lots of work blogging, and I'm looking forward to HIVE growing and other opportunities to invest in an alternative economy.
But you know, and other people have said the same in comments on your blog, the people who are Orcas now, joined around the same time, know each other and each other's reputation (ie how they behave, what they are about, rather than the number beside their username), grew their accounts together and tend to continue to network together.
We can either change some of our behaviour and open our networks to newer accounts, or we can accept that those newer accounts need to go through a similar development process to build their own networks.
I was chatting to @nathen007 the other day (he was talking about micro-loans), and remembered HBI shares which I don't hear much about these days, but they were so important when I was a fledgling minnow/dolphin. Perhaps there is a role for Orcas to play in developing the HBI network? It's win-win and helps to tie people in HIVE.

Sort:  

I know what you mean - there are a lot of opportunities for sure, I'm not too down on the place don't worry.

I'm not sure we need HBI anymore, there's so much opportunity on HE in liquidity pools and a 12% return on HBD, so much more going on than there was for sure!

!PIZZA

I'm not too down on the place don't worry.

😍

I'm not sure we need HBI anymore

I was thinking specifically how we can support newer members?

I guess HBI was good for that for sure! I quite like @stevec's 10K Minnows project.

Oh yes, that's a good option. And there's the teamuk bot, I guess, too.