Saturday Savers Club | Week 20 | Saturday 18 May 2024 | What is the simplest way to buy HBD? | Two HBD giveaways in one!

in LeoFinance15 days ago


IMG_20240505_180207370.jpg

This very much younger than mine Puma was parked almost opposite mine in the motorway service station at the weekend. It's in great nick, too. You don't often see them these days.

Weekly Savings Round-Up

What is the simplest way to buy HBD?

I'm sitting here with liquid HIVE wanting to add HBD to my savings wallet. I want to add a bit each month. What are the best routes to exchange HIVE for HBD? Which is the simplest, most cost effective way? HBD giveaway for good ideas in the comments.

HiveFest 10-15 September 2024 Split, Croatia

Announcement
I'd love to book my flights for this but I need a few more crucial bits of information so I can put together my budget: HiveFest hotel, HiveFest ticket.

From the UK Split is about a two and half hour flight, depending which part of the country you're flying from.

@eds-vote is rocking it

Sitting at over 300,000 HP, the eds-vote account is doing its job of distributing EDS tokens beautifully. What an amazing model!

Another week of growth as we now have over 300k HP being delegated in. I thought things were going to slow down but it seems our growth per week is staying around the 5k park per week. Been just over a year old, i'd say we're smashing it, even with SPI's 100k delegation, we're still over 200k HP. (Source)

The EDS income model costs the operator @spinvest each week and was projected to do that for a good few years before the @eddie-earner wallet reached the size where the costs were reduced to zero and everything was only ever income.

With @eds-vote the time it will take to reach that tipping point is getting shorter and closer, possibly within the year. That would be a great use of the massive delegation from @spinvest (100,000HP). The delegation became available through @spinvest selling BTC when there was a ratio of 202,000 HIVE to 1 BTC. This is a short-term measure, probably until November-December this year when the delegation will be withdrawn and powered down to sell when HIVE starts to hit the peaks. I think we are going for $2 this time around.

The whole thing is a series of flips when "the price is right"! (Does anyone remember that Saturday night game show)? So we went from BTC to HIVE, somewhere there will be an HBD to HIVE flip or vice versa, HIVE to FIAT, then the whole process will reverse as the prices drop, picking up HIVE again, then going for BTC when the HIVE:BTC ratio is somewhere around 30,000 HIVE to 1 BTC. I think we are aiming to buy 2 BTC in the next round. So interesting! Check the weekly Sunday report on the @spinvest account.

image.png

Savings Goals

Let's see how we're doing:

AssetGoalStartLast WeekTodayProgress
Hive Power115,000100,400106,085106,20992%
EDS4,6003,2993,8313,85783%
HSBI1,00074195996096%
HBD10,0005,3747227227%

2024 Savings Goals

Progress

  • EDS, EDS-VOTE, EDSD - Everything going well here, massive increase in delegations to @eds-vote, lots from Saturday Savers which is fabulous to see. We've also set up a curation trail for eds-vote which supports Savers so a nice circular economy. I'm buying EDSD with my earnings from my side-hustle and posting. (More about side-hustles).

EDS eco-system breakdown and model
EDS Income Token | Fixed and Variable Savings Plans
EDS Dollar (EDSD) Release Post

  • Blogging - hahahahaha 😍

  • Saturday Savers Club - 2024 Launch and FAQs. Fifty-five registered savers now. Anyone can join at any time by commenting with their goals on the weekly post on the @eddie-earner account (also follow @eddie-earner for news about EDS). Our first subscription savings plan is on point too!

  • HSBI - HIVE basic income - I'm growing these through sponsoring HPUD and other challenge posts over on Saturday Savers Club. It'll have a nice boost this week.

image.png

What's New

Last week was busy, this week was busier. I'm looking after a third area of work at my main gig for a couple of months (and, obviously, I have a side gig 😁). It's interesting because I'm helping to co-ordinate frontline delivery and it is a long-time since I've done that. We're trying to recruit, not easy in London in these times. Many people left the City through the combination of Brexit and the pandemic, mostly working age professionals. We have an advert in the national press but very little interest so far. I've also been prospecting in my networks, I think we may have more success there.

Over the weekend, I'll be getting the Saturday Savers Club workshop and handout ready for the Conference workshop I'll be doing about Hive on 7 June in Manchester.

  • What do you wish you had known or understood about Hive before you started?
  • What's been your biggest learning since opening your account?
  • What advice would you give to someone starting out?

More HBD giveaways for good ideas in the comments!

Have a good week everyone!

image.png

Sort:  

I think my life's biggest mistake was ignoring the compounding and the dividend income. I lost the plot there. With investing into growth assets I kind of never got the moon I was predicting with altcoins. However compounding tokens like EDS, BRO, SPI, DAB I think I am getting my lost rhythm back. Lot to learn and it would take a year or two to do good on hive.

It's definitely a long-term thing!

I always use ECENCY, to convert my HBD-HIVE or HIVE-HBD, that is very simple way to exchange your HIVE or HBD... I wrote a full post on it ...

https://ecency.com/hive-140084/@nabbas0786/how-to-use-ecency-front

Good tip, thank you 😍

Thanks to you,,

Hi @shanibeer,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

I always convert HBD to Hive in the internal market, so doing it in reverse would be just as easy. :) I don't know why the prices shown on PeakD are from Coin Gecko when they have a much lower volume from what I understand, so it's always a bit different from the internal market prices. So keep that in mind!
Have a great week. :)

Oh! and re:

What advice would you give to someone starting out?

I would say, comment a lot on other people's stuff, so you meet people and discover communities. Finding the right group for where to post your content matters a lot I think, rather than posting irrelevant content in the wrong community, which annoys people who are interested in that community topic. Getting yourself out there and exploring the different topics is a good way to get a feel for what works in a blog, and what topics go where.

!BEER
!HUG

Dear @shanibeer, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @phoenixwren.
(2/2)

I usually utilize the keychain of @peakd swap to go from hive - > hbd or vice versa. Biggest reason is that it goes really smooth and I utilize the keychain app often.
But I am very curious to read others answers to see which way is the cheapest in terms of fees.

I think what I wanted to know when I started was about consistency and slow growth. I expected huge upvotes like the whales were receiving. Ofcourse I didn't get these. Although through consistent blogging and interaction, I am growing my account now! :D

Good questions, I am curious for the answers of others :)

Great idea about the keychain swap, thank you!

Useful tips for newcomers, too, lovely 😍

Ecency is probably the easiest. Whether you use the frontend or their app, I believe it's free, since you're basically just trading with others wanting to swap.

Good tip, thank you 😍

I may actually do a power down to pay for my trip to Hivefest. Since I got past 100k I'm not so worried about what I have, but of course I'd like the price to go up a bit. I'm waiting for ticket and hotel details too. The flights are not too bad from Luton.

A power-down is an idea, I hadn't thought of that 😍

Loading...

Hi @shanibeer !

To move HIVE into HBD, the simplest way is "Trade Tokens" on Ecency, as others have said. But the cheapest I've found so far (apart from author rewards, lol) is through Hivedex.io - it's not a huge saving, but usually a percent or two better than Ecency, or if you're brave you can use it like a trading platform and tell it what price you want to buy at.

As for the main lessons for Hive newbies, I'd say the most important thing is to post regularly about what you love, and engage every day because you enjoy the engagement. Don't worry about the rewards too much for the first six months; they'll build up slowly and steadily and then one day you'll look at your wallet and realise the incredible impact of consistency x compounding 😀

Hello @alonicus, good to see you and thanks for the feedback 😍

The simplest and easiest way that I've found to convert between HIVE and HBD is via the Hivehub.dev market. I still haven't tried to do it through Ecency, but it's on my list!

What do you wish you had known or understood about Hive before you started?

The magic of compounding interest and exponential growth. As such, I wish I had started putting every bit of HBD that I got into savings from the very beginning.

As above, I also wish that I had fully understood just how incredibly important rock-solidly consistent engagement and publishing quality daily posts truly is, right from the start.

What's been your biggest learning since opening your account?

That Hive is a sovereignty-driven technological tool that allows everyone, everywhere, to connect, learn, share, to be on the same economic playing field, no matter where s/he is in the world, and to surmount his or her local economic situations. That's why I give my all to Hive every day.

What advice would you give to someone starting out?

First would be to secure his or her keys very well, and preferably in multiple places, online and off, and set up a recovery account in case keys are compromised. This is essential before anyone starts building and growing on the Blockchain.

Second would be to devote a good bit of time to diving in deep and learning about Hive and its community via the great many excellent guides and tutorials that have been written over the years, before doing anything.

Third would make to make a good introductory post where the individual shares authentically about who they are, what is important to them, and what they love most.

Fourth is to get into the habit early of rock-solidly consistent engagement, especially via Ecency (to be counted in the Leaderboard), and the daily quality publishing of posts that provide value to the community.

Fifth would be to learn about the benefits of delegating layer-1 and layer-2, the benefits of adding assets to diesel/liquidity pools, and about more dependable and reliable income tokens.

I hope what I've shared is useful! Congratulations on the success of your various projects! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

Hello @tydynrain, good to see you 😍

The simplest and easiest way that I've found to convert between HIVE and HBD is via the Hivehub.dev market.

convert or exchange?

Great feedback there, thank you!

Hiya, @shanibeer, and very likewise! I guess the best word to use would be 'swap', as that's what's used on the site. Thank you muchly, I'm grateful that you appreciate it! Of course, you're always very welcome, I'm happy to help! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

Ah, okay, so you're talking about exchanging/trading/swapping.

Many thanks 😍

Yep, exactly! Certainly, you're most welcome! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

What is the simplest way to buy HBD?
I'd like to know that myself!!

Looks like you're doing pretty good! Keep up the great work!

What do you wish you had known or understood about Hive before you started?
The one thing I wish I understood (not necessarily before) when I got on hive was how to get my fiat to hive. At the time I joined (steem before hive) it was like everyone I asked gave me short, incomplete answers. They told me where to go but not how to do it. That upset be cause at that time I could have built my Hive much larger than it is now.

What's been your biggest learning since opening your account?
Well, there's a few things. How to get my fiat to hive, about delegating to help build my hive & now about liquidity pools. I'm still learning that though.

What advice would you give to someone starting out?
That depends on if they are investing or not.
For the investor - Get your hive to at least 1K HP then delegate to projects that pay you a return in hive, but only delegate 500 & keep 500 for your own power. then grow yourself through following others & posting regularly. Once daily if you can but at least 3-4 times a week. Lastly, once you build a nice portfolio of second layer tokens, get into liquidity pools. They also help to build your hive & other secondary tokens.
For those who aren't investing - be patient, it will happen! grow your connections & be active daily, curate (like) others post & comment as much as possible. Make sure to do an introductory post so people will know who you are and that your new.
For all - comment & curate as much as possible, building your connections are important. Join giveaways & play games. All these things will build you up on hive.

!PIZZA
!BBH
!LUV
!ALIVE
!LOLZ
!PGM
!WINE

Great feedback, @successchar, thank you 😍

@shanibeer! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @successchar. (2/50)

@successchar, sorry! You need more $ALIVE staked to use this command.

The minimum requirement is 1000.0 ALIVE staked (non-delegated stake plus incoming delegations).

More $ALIVE is available from Hive-Engine or Tribaldex, plus you can win Alive Power delegations in our daily chat on @alive.chat every day.

hive is a no fee blockchain.
let everyone know that

Thank you for your tip 😍

Hi @shanibeer great to see you! Great work on your Saturday Saver's Club goal. Is the recruiting for frontline delivery a delivery job as in driving truck delivering packages? I'm pretty sure you your side gig is Hive Saturday Savers club? Thank you and gave a good week ahead. Barb !BBH !CTP

The recruiting is to deliver services. In one case working with schools and youth settings and in another working with local authorities who manage London boroughs. I have another side gig as well as Saturday Savers Club!

Lovely to see you 😍

Hello, @shanibeer that is wonderful of you to help youth and schools and local authorities - And Yes of course your Saturday Savers Club! Thank you for telling me what you do for your recruiting services. Have a great weekend! Barb 🌟👍😊 !BBH !CTP

Hi,
I always use the Hive Wallet market for trading between HIVE and HBD (as you are aware I'm a tad obsessed with it !). At this point in time the price of HIVE is so low, that for me its better to be changing HBD for HIVE ! However, if it were me, I know exactly what I'd do - because I'd want to get a good price when changing HIVE into HBD. As such, I'd go to the Hive Wallet Market, and I'd look at the current price (which is 0.316099 at the time of this comment), and then I'd place some trades that are above that price, so that I'd get more HBD. I'd check what price HIVE has been over the last 1-2 weeks, and then select something that looks realistically achievable. Looking at the price now, since the start of May, the price has ranged from $0.2943 to $0.3859 - although that high, was a very short lived spike. It certainly did hit $0.34 a few times (and above), so I'd probably pick something just above $0.34 (or maybe $0.35 or $0.36 if feeling more optimistic), and set my trades there (and then you can sit back and wait - if it hits the price, the trades will go through and you'll have gotten more HBD compared to the current low price). If they dont go through quickly enough, you can always cancel the trades, and set new ones with a slightly lower trade price.
I'd then simply do the same each month, when looking to change more HIVE for HBD.

I wish you best of luck for the 7th of June - not that far away now (but I know you'll smash it !).
Cheers @hoosie

That's a good idea for coming months. I'll be stacking to 10,000 HBD by 31 December, so I need a more strategic approach! I think, though, although Hive is low, it's not as low as when I bought the HIVE, so I'm still winning (I don't mind winning by a greater stretch, though).

Hmm, 7th June - I'd better book some travel, too!

The best and cheapest option to convert HBD-Hive and viceversa is the Ecency option. I wrote this post explaining how to do it.

For the newbies, my first suggestion is to grow the HP up to a minimum of 500 before delegating anything to any project, and stack as much as we can.

I hope this helps. 🤗 !LUV !PIZZA

shanibeer, palomap3 sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Ecency definitely seems to be favourite ❤️

Good thing when people get such gifts then people would have more faith in the project now.

Which one do you feel is a better investment?
HP or HBD?

They have different purposes.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
palomap3 tipped shanibeer
@successchar(2/15) tipped @shanibeer


Hey @shanibeer, here is a little bit of BEER from @phoenixwren for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.


Hey @shanibeer, here is a little bit of BEER from @phoenixwren for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Loading...