#saturdaysaversclub | Year 4 Week 7 | Am I regenerating? 😍

in LeoFinance β€’ 3 months ago (edited)

IMG_1466.png

Using this screenshot of Lauren Bacall and Humphrey Bogart in The Big Sleep again because I like it so much.

Weekly savings round-up

Money is good, health is essential! Can developing thrifty savings habits benefit your health? Can taking care of your health improve your approach to saving? I feel the two go hand in hand.

Am I Regenerating?

A week or two ago I wrote about the outcome of following a plant-based diet (diet in the sense of this is how I eat, not in the sense of restricting calories). The benefit I focused on was the improvement in cholesterol levels: the ones you want to be low had gone down and the ones you want to be higher had gone up.

I realised this week that there had been other health benefits. I bought a new peak flow meter (used to meaure lung capacity) as I hadn't checked my readings for a while. Imagine my surprise when there was a forty point improvement from four years ago! I'm now getting a reading that is fifty points higher than the average for my age, height and sex.

Not that I'm always measuring this, that and the other thing, but my blood pressure was a little higher than I expected at my health check (although still within the NHS "okay" range), so again I checked at home. Not perfect, but improved and frequently within the optimum of less than 120/70.

I've also noticed that I've had far less arthritic pain.

Am I regenerating?

Saturday Savers Club SPI Sale

We're just putting the finishing touches to the SPI sale exclusively for members of the Saturday Savers Club. There's 300 SPI put aside for this initiative and Savers will be able to buy them through the year on subscription. This means that Savers will be able to budget and plan their purchases on a fixed price through the year.

The SPI sale will only be available to savers who are registered on the Savers Chart and subscriptions will be a minimum of 1 HIVE per week (we're still finalising the details but probably 1.13 HIVE per week). Subscriptions will start in March, so there is time for savers to plan how they are going to raise the weekly subscription.

image.png

Savings Goals

Let's see how we're doing:

AssetGoalStartLast WeekTodayProgress
Hive Power115,000100,400101,919102,12789%
EDS4,6003,2993,4853,50076%
HSBI1,00074183784785%
HBD6,4505,1165,2225,23081%

2024 Savings Goals

Progress

  • EDSD - I'm aiming to hold 1,330 0f these as short-term savings to build my EDS and passive HIVE income. I bought 1,095 to start and then I buy 5 each week, using the recurring payments option on PeakD. (More about side-hustles.)

EDS Income Token | Fixed and Variable Savings Plans
EDS Dollar (EDSD) Release Post

  • Blogging - Big on the conception, not so good on the implementation. It's a long game so plenty of time. Meanwhile, I enjoy Hive.

  • Saturday Savers Club - 2024 Launch and FAQs. Forty-five savers already! Anyone can join at any time by commenting with their goals on the weekly post on the @eddie-earner account (also follow @eddie-earner for news about EDS).

  • HSBI - HIVE basic income - I'm growing these through sponsoring HPUD and other challenge posts over on Saturday Savers Club. I'm off to check how many entries there are this week!

image.png

What's New

Well, obviously, continuing to work on conserving my health! I feel really encouraged by the changes I'm seeing and it's motivating me to keep on the journey! I'm pretty much eating about right: I'd like to improve activity levels and see what difference that makes. I get in about 70,000 steps a week, but doing more Pilates and some strength building activities would be good.

Otherwise, savings are doing nicely 😍 .

Have a good week, everyone!

image.png

Screenshot (379).png


image.png

image.png

Page dividers courtesy of @barge | Saturday Savers banner by @raj808

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort: Β 

πŸŒ„ Good morning (here)! β˜• Yes, absolutely @shanibeer, without our health, what else truly matters? πŸ€·β€β™‚οΈ Glad to read of the progress you are making on that essential front ...

  • Got some "dry powder" set aside, while waiting for the ... "big reveal" ... of the details of SSC's SPI Sale.

  • Blogging: "... not so good on the implementation." Yep. The commitment of time, if done properly / well, is ... what? How would we classify that? Having resumed, I knew that would be my biggest challenge. Still is an "ongoing debate" internally ...

  • HSBI: Very nice for me to find this initiative is still active and Joseph is still faithfully laboring away, to make it so. One of the discoveries that keeps me going, in picking up from my old PIFC days ...

Good, steady progress on your savings objectives. πŸ‘ Leading by example! 🫑

Good morning 😁

Yes, I've got plans for later for blogging. I've a lot of other things happening at the moment, and I'm happy to let them take priority.

Just discovered the HSBI you sent on the 17th. Not sure what I did to earn that, but ... Thank you kindly! πŸ™‚

I love that first statement
Money is good
Health is essential

So pleased you liked! Good to have both, I think? 😍

!LUV

precab, shanibeer sent you LUV. πŸ™‚ (1/5) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Hey g'morning, you! β˜ΊοΈπŸ‘‹

"Money is good, health is essential. Can developing thrifty savings habits benefit your health? Can taking care of your health improve your approach to saving? I feel the two go hand in hand."

Oh, I so agree with this! Taking care of yourself can be uplifting - the dopamine hits are comparable to seeing one's savings grow. Looking after yourself mentally and physically is very much a long-term investment, an endurance game. As an aside, have you thought about joining strava2hive? Might be nice motivation for your activity goals!

Β 3 months agoΒ (edited)Β 

Good morning! Thank goodness it's the weekend, this has been a demanding week!

I had a quick check of strava2hive, this seems to be about running? I use @actifit to count steps on one of my saver accounts, but I'm always forgetting to post. I'm not too worried, doing the steps is the important thing.

I've just asked on the app I'm using for food logging whether they offer activity coaching (they have nutritionists and food coaches). Let's see what they come up with.

Oee. Tell me about it. What a week... Welcome to the weekend! 🍻 Hope you get some time to relax.

Regarding strava2hive - not so! The account merely reposts your Strava activity, then adds your weekly total to the leaderboard. The community celebrates really anything that gets you moving, haha. (FYI: the reposting is also automatic. πŸ˜‰) Do take a look at the range of activities Strava tracks here. But actifit does sound useful, too! Esp. if it also logs also nutritionist advice and food coaches.

Β 3 months agoΒ (edited)Β 

What is strava?

Actifit only records steps, although you can log what activity you were doing.

The food log is in the zoe app, which is a subscription service.

Ah! Right, Strava is a separate app that can be used to track your physical exercise. It's also a wee bit of a social network - you can add friends and followers on it. I use it mainly as a tool to motivate myself and others, haha, but it is also a great logbook for outdoorsy adventures. πŸ˜… It uses GPS to accurately record distance, pace, route, etc. There's also the benefit of Strava recording your performance (pace, elevation, heart rate)... this is super helpful if you're after detailed analytics and performance metrics for each workout. And it can track your progress over time... there's something really satisfying about seeing a graph build up because of the effort you put in to your own physical health, haha. strava2Hive merely syncs some of that information to the Blockchain. I took screenshots of some past maps for an earlier post - I'll link it here to give you an idea of the Strava setup. But if you're curious, I'd recommend you download it and give it a go. It's super fun!

Ah, thank you. It looks similar to Map My Walk which I use sometimes. Does Strava have a sensor to monitor your heart rate?

Yes - well, you can pair a sensor. More info here. I knew someone who successfully paired Strava with a heart-rate monitor during his virtual bike rides - it worked pretty well! 😌

!LUV

actaylor, shanibeer sent you LUV. πŸ™‚ (2/5) tools | trade | connect | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Years ago before I got the allergy diagnosis, I was vegan, and when you are vegan your cholesterol is going to be right around baseline for humans since you aren't eating any in your diet.
So one day I did a charity walk, and as it was for a heart health org they had a booth where they would check your cholesterol, so I got mine checked.
The nurse was like, "OK, let's check your results ...DAMN! I mean. That's really good!" πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£ Apparently she had never seen a number that low before.

OTOH, my lung capacity has always sucked. I get asked if I smoke (I don't) when I do that test. When I worked at the hospital, it's a famous respiratory disease hospital, so when they got new equipment they were looking for volunteers to calibrate it and test it out. I was like, oh - I suck at these - and the nurse was like PERFECT because our patients are likely to suck at them too so you're the one we need.
So I sat there getting lightheaded trying to make the thing read my results blowing in to it so many times. It took 45 minutes for it to even register me blowing into it at all. I hope that helped them calibrate it for patients who struggle as much as I do. xD

I find it fascinating how we work. Cholesterol seems to be not only about dietary cholesterol but how other things we eat causes our body to create cholesterol. I'm not sure now, but I feel it has something to do with refined carbohydrates. How we metabolise all these different foodstuffs is amazing. Always good to get ace results!

So I sat there getting lightheaded

😍

Wow - you are getting some pretty impressive health benefits from that diet ! Thats great.
And its great to see your stacks are getting stackier - great work !

stackier

😍

Hi @shanibeer,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

😍

Saving to be healthy and being healthy to be able to get more money works hand in hand and those two aspects of our lives needs to be really worked on

😍

The saving goals will definitely be huge but I believe it is achievable

😍