Enjoy the tale of what I did with 72 BAT I earned just dicking around on the internet

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

To begin with, I don't actually know how long it took me to accumulate these 72 BAT, but I do believe it was quite a long time. However, I didn't use the browser for quite a long time between when I started accumulating that and when I finished. If I had to guess, I think I had about half of that already from a while ago and then I added the other half in the last month or two.

The dollar value of it was around $23. I keep hearing about how you can spend BAT on Splinterlands, so that's what I originally set out to do. However, following the instructions given by the creators of the Brave browser itself, it would've cost about 50% of my BAT to withdraw it and be able to spend it on Splinterlands credits.

What I opted to do was just based on a whim I had, so don't take this as personal advice. Follow your own path and do your own research. Here's what I did, though. Instead of sending the BAT to a BTC or ETH address, I looked on what @blocktrades had as options and went with DASH. I got some DASH with the BAT and had it sent to an address generated by Blocktrades. I ended up with about 94 Hive.


image.png


I took the 95 Hive and made a few modest bets on KryptoGamers (the dice game) and got it to 100 Hive pretty easily.


image.png


I stated on Twitter that I was going to stop there, but I went just a little bit further.

When I got to something like 103 Hive, I decided to buy a 90-day delegation from @Blocktrades for 100 Hive for this account, @sharkthelion. I delegate most of my Hive Power out to @leovoter to get the LEO rewards, but now I'll have some Hive Power behind my votes to build my own Hive Power up a little bit at the same time. I'm basically doing this because the delegation is for 90 days. I have pretty good reason to believe that I'll have purchased a much more powerful upvote by the end of that 90 days than it's worth today. I'll be able to support posts with more power. I'll still probably earn the same amount of Hive either way, but if it's worth more in USD, that'd definitely be a bonus.

In addition to the dice games, I did also sell the HBD I had, as you can see in the wallet shots.

With the rest of it, I went back to KryptoGamers and played modest dice games until I had over 5 Hive so I could transfer it to Hive Engine and get another cold pizza slice for playing Rising Star. I play that game as @scootermcd.

Screen Shot 20210212 at 1.05.41 PM.png

So, as you can see, by taking a little bit of a chance, but not risking too much, I turned 94 Hive into a little bit more. The delegation of HP will result in more HP earned by curation and the extra pizza slice will mean I can renew my energy in Rising Star three times a day instead of just two.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Pretty cool story. I have dome bat tokens stored up, I should maybe look into making a some trades! Thanks for the idea!