You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Economic Storm Clouds Are Gathering... Covid Was Just The Final Nail In The Fiscal Coffin. Are YOU And Yours Ready.

in LeoFinance3 years ago

While reading this, I realised that I should probably be working out my savings and money in weeks rather than months.

Like.. if I saved some money each month I only see my balance grow once month, save each week and it grows 4 time a month. All the same but looks better. xD

I think I'm going to move to saving for things rather than using creditcards. I could buy a lot of things that I want right now but more debt.. ugh... While I can juggle the debt on my creditcards transferring balances every couple of years for 0% interest, still costing me money in the long run cause transfer fees.

debt free would be nice, most of my income goes to servicing debt to clear it reasonably quickly. I think that's what I'll do.


My witness node - Stream on Vimm.tv

Sort:  

Yeah man, you are thinking about it... That's actually the biggest step any of us need to take because without that step absolutely NOTHING happens.

Not so long ago, M'lady and I had 25k+ in consumer debt, I made a game out of clearing it... Seriously it worked for me because it suited my mindset, each person may choose a plan that suits who they are. You and I have met, I am sure it was immediately apparent I did not have a corporate job earning me 50-100k per year haha.

Whilst in a job that was only a little over minimum wage , I sought ways to trim (or sometimes slash) existing costs and ongoing bills. I found ways of eating for less without feeling deprived. I found leisure activities that did not cost a lot, I never wanted my family to suffer or feel like there was no fun to be had.

I took to eBay to make a little extra and declutter too, I worked extra hours and I ploughed any excess in to the highest interest debt and we began to dig our way out... We NEVER ever looked for a credit card or loan EVER since then, my rule was always if we ain't got the money for it, we obviously can't afford it lol.

I quite literally became a BOSS at saving and cashing in coins lol, I always knew how many 20p's I needed to be able to finish a bag off to get it to the bank.

I remember one year, when we had not managed a holiday at all for a few years, we went to Blackpool all from the proceeds of bags of loose change I had kept, counted and hidden till they built up lol.

Get a book, list it all and which debt you're attacking first Bro and write some strategies down to give you ideas and go do it Ben.

I used to regularly calculate our net wealth lol, I knew it was gonna start with a minus figure but I just wanted to see the calculations showing that number as a lower one haha.

We both (me 'n her lol) obtained a credit builder credit card ((8 billion % apr!!!)) 2 years back, it was simply to spend in order to build our credit score so that if we ever desperately needed credit we would get the best deals, we spend a little each month on our cards and pay the full entire, complete, total, 100% balance each and every month they have not received 1p in interest from us lol.