A coin that has eluded my grasp for months, is finally here….

in LeoFinance12 days ago

Afternoon everyone….

By now you all know that I am a huge fan of ships on coins, rounds or bars. I easily have over a hundred different ones in my collection by now.

This one has been an extremely difficult one to track down. I have been searching for this particular coin for many months now, to no avail. I searched every auction site, and two of the best world coin places that I’ve been buying from for years now. I even had those two world coin places looking for me as well.

So after months of searching, I was talking to a friend of mine who’s been a collector for decades as well. He asked me to send him a picture of the coin. In just two weeks time, he said that he found it and it was on its way.

Well that was over a month ago now….

But the wait is officially over. Because today I received a package directly from Portugal where the coin was produced. And inside that package was the silver coin that I’ve been searching for.

If you search for this coin you will easily find a copper nickel version. That’s because there were half a million struck of them. But this silver version there were only 5,050 minted.

It’s a beauty….

A 1998 Portugal 200 escudos India commemorative silver coin.

Here is some info on it from Numista:
Issuer Portugal
Period Third Republic (1974-date)
Type Non-circulating coin
Year 1998
Value 200 Escudos (200 PTE)
Currency Escudo (1911-2001)
Composition Silver (.925)
Weight 26.5 g
Diameter 36 mm
Shape Round
Technique Milled
Demonetized 28 February 2002
Number N#45550
References KM# 712a, Gomes# R 128.03
Commemorative issue
India

Series: IX Portuguese Discoveries Series

Obverse
Under a pepper tree twig, the coat of arms of Portugal, the value, and a local boat with lateen sail. Around, country name, date belowr and pearl circle broken by 2 rosettes.

Script: Latin

Lettering:
Inscription :
REPUBLICA PORTUGUESA
1998
200 ESC

Engraver: Isabel Carriço/Fernando Branco

Reverse
Vasco da Gama ship and its name, making sail to the right where shown the coast of India north of Calicut from the map of the Atlas Lopo Homem-Reinels of 1519. 1498 is the year of arrival in India.

Script: Latin

Lettering:
Vasco Gama
india-1498

Engraver: Isabel Carriço/Fernando Branco

Edge
Reeded

Mint
INCM Lisbon, Portugal

Now the coin….

IMG_5092.jpeg

IMG_5093.jpeg

Sort:  

That is a great coin. Congrats on a successful end to your long hunt. So rewarding!

A beautiful coin!!!
I've been looking too! All I see are copper-nickel coins!
Congrats, bestie!!!
!BBH

@silverd510! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @silversaver888. (14/20)

You received an upvote of 90% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

That's very awesome! Helps to have friends all over the world I guess! I really like that it has a map of the coast on the one side. Did you see this piece that my local shop is selling? I posted it in the Discord a while ago:

image.png

That is amazingly beautiful! The condition on that is remarkable, hard to get one nicer than that one. Well done!

Thanks man. Yeah I’m deciding whether or not to get it graded.
!pimp


You must be killin' it out here!
@silverd510 just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @thebighigg.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

That one I definitely would. It's just to nice not to.

You have collected good things this month, all of which will appeal to every silver lover.

Congratulations that a sweet coin I'm waiting on a lot of stuff like that 🤣

These Portuguese 200 Escudo Discovery series are a hot item on my Shopping list, quite a few coins in this series. A Marvelous specimen.

That one coin is gonna give you a challenge in silver anyway

At only 5050 pieces , not an easy coin to find.

It sure wasn’t

I wanna make out with that coin 😍

🤦🏻

What a beauty! That must have been really great receiving it after such a long search and wait!

!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@thisismylife just slapped you with 10.000 PIMP, @silverd510.
You earned 10.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 3/4 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District