Knife Review & Some Shiny....

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

Morning everyone....

Roughly six weeks ago I did a post on a new pocket carry knife that I had just purchased. I had lost my old pocket carry knife on a job site and felt empty without it.

My last knife that either has a new owner or is now buried treasure for someone to find was a Kershaw. I loved that knife, it was perfectly broken in and kept a very sharp edge.

I decided to try something new with this knife. I have several multi tools from SOG, but have never owned one of their knives before. So I said what the heck, let’s give it a try.

So I bought this SOG assisted opening knife.

EE7C6A37-9760-4F5F-8C73-518C06087469.jpeg

5FC6AEF6-E67E-4622-A42A-EBBE0D357913.jpeg

Right out of the box it had a very nice edge on it. The clip on it is very heavy duty and will not break under the conditions I use it for. It felt pretty nice in my hand, and has a nice balance. The knife is very tight, needs a lot of breaking in.

Six weeks later....

For the money this is a quality pocket carry knife. It will handle pretty much anything you need in a pocket carry. The tanto style blade is nice and it holds an edge very well. I did hone it up right out of the box to razor status. I’ve only hit it once since then, and it was to take a burr that I put on it doing something it wasn’t intended for.

I didn’t think that I was going to like the web style handle. But, I think it works well, sweaty hands don’t slip on it and it’s durable. I have opened and closed this several hundred times already. It is still not broken in to my liking. I don’t remember how long my Kershaw took but this SOG is still tighter then I’d like it.

Overall the knife gets a B+ Or A- grade. It’s a quality knife for an everyday carry piece. But it will never be confused with a Kershaw that’s for sure. SOG does have higher end pocket knives that I recently saw on a few websites. For a $30 knife this has more then exceeded my expectations.

Now for some shiny....

How about a nice piece of shiny from Silver Shield. This is a minimintage from them in 2017 called “Big Mother”. It had a total mintage number of 4550. It is a BU version, not the proof version.

As many of you know I am a huge fan of Silver Shield rounds. Most of his themes on his rounds are funny as hell, and are very fitting.

So here is “Big Mother”...

537D7795-0DFC-476E-A45D-C2E8B9A0F5EE.jpeg

1D76B1D6-DE3E-4290-8956-099F5AFBACFB.jpeg

3A2403D9-4CBC-416A-BECC-CC3BEBFA5822.jpeg

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

My EDC knife is a Kershaw Nura 3.5, deploys quick without the button, because button actuated blades are, golly gee, illegal in Canada yet cuts just the same.
Nice Silvershield round Sir.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I just found my ol’ Kershaw, in Mrs. @thedamus’ car, which used to be mine, and is about to be again… feel great to have it back!
That one looks pretty solid, but I agree, mostly about the feel of it.