Not just any old ship silver bar….

in LeoFinance2 months ago

Afternoon everyone….

I haven’t had a whole lotta free time since I’ve been back from the Las Vegas silvergoldstackers meet up. Aside from trying to complete jobs. I’ve also been driving all over the state meeting with lawyers, engineers and getting stamped documents from the state.

It’s been a real pain in the ass. But today my contractor submitted for a permit approval for the second time. Hopefully this is the last one and we get the permit.

On a different note. This is a silver bar that I picked up at Archangel coins while in Vegas with the gang. I’m not a huge silver bar guy, I actually prefer rounds over bars. I think it’s a coin collector thing.

This bar grabbed me right off the bat because of the ship on it. It’s a “Christopher Columbus Discovers America” bar. I don’t know what mint produced it, but I’m doing what little research I could. I found one currently listed on eBay. I wax quite shocked at the asking price, considering that I paid $28 for it.

I checked four different auction sites. None had current or sold listing for this bar in the last six months.

Here is the bar….

IMG_4835.jpeg

IMG_4836.jpeg

It’s a cool looking bar.

Here is the eBay listing that I found.

IMG_4861.jpeg

I know we’ve all been taught in school that Columbus discovered America but that’s bullshit evidently.

Explorer Christopher Columbus (1451–1506) is known for his 1492 ‘discovery’ of the 'new world' of the Americas on board his ship Santa Maria.
In actual fact, Columbus did not discover North America. He was the first European to sight the Bahamas archipelago and then the island later named Hispaniola, now split into Haiti and the Dominican Republic. On his subsequent voyages he went farther south, to Central and South America. He never got close to what is now called the United States.

I wasn’t alive so I’ll have to trust the experts.

Sort:  

I was there at the time, so I do know, we Nordics discovered the north east coast and Greenland in the 1300's... but we weren't the first...

Oh damn that's a hella of a premium very nice

You received an upvote of 90% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

Very nice. I started off with bars, but I am starting to dig the rounds a bit more now. Who am I kidding? I don't really care as long as it is silver!

Thats a great pick up!

Some of those vintage bars and rounds go for a lot of money, and it looks like you scored!

!BBH

@silverd510! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bulliontools. (5/20)

Congratulations @silverd510! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 320000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 330000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!

Hopefully, you get your long-awaited approval!!!
That's a good looking bar, @silverd510 !
I have a round with him and three ships. I'll show it sometime.

I wasn’t alive so I’ll have to trust the experts.

That's a default I always take. I am not an expert, !LOL

A father was washing his car with his son
And the son says, “dad, can’t you use a sponge?”

Credit: reddit
@silverd510, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of silversaver888

(3/10)
Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP

You’re not kidding. This delay has really messed me up.
Cool this is the first bar or round I’ve ever seen with Columbus.
I’m an expert at wood craftsmanship and maybe coins. But that’s about it.

The Vikings were technically the first discoverers of N.A., they just didn't get on good terms with the indigenous natives there. If only the circumstances turned out more 'Diplomatic' things would have been totally different. Norse could have been the global language by now.

Don't forget Leif Erikson who arrived in Canada about 500 years before Columbus saw the Bahamas. Not to mention they found some stone tools in Virginia that dated back about 14,000 years and were made in France. People have been coming to the US for a long time!

Nice silver bar, looks like it has some value on eBay!

Oh wow that's an amazing deal you got there for sure!
The bar is nice, and man, that's a big premium...

!PIMP


You must be killin' it out here!
@thisismylife just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @silverd510.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/4 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District