You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nineties Friday with Nirvana...

in LeoFinance2 months ago (edited)

I’ve seen both many times. I actually saw GNR when it was the true GNR. Right before they released Appetite For Destruction, they played at L’Amours in Queens. My older brother got me in. Tommy Guns was still in the band then. I also saw Metallica at Jones beach before they were big. I also hung out with them in the parking lot of WDHA radio station back then. They had a Metal Mania show on Fridays hosted by Eddie Trunk. I met tons of bands that way in the late 80’s. We used to hang out in the parking lot.

Sort:  

That was a great time to see them in the early days, I think it was 92 when they were in Santiago, Chile.

That must have been cool to hang out with the bands. Eddie Trunk is a legend!

Awesome.

Yeah I was in a band named Force of Four that won a battle of the bands which was sponsored by WDHA and Eddie Trunk was one of the judges. We got to be a fourth opener for Slayer at a small venue called the Showplace in Dover. Which ironically is now a strip bar, but they kept the name. Unfortunately we didn’t last very long together. But we played a bunch of cool places.