You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cryptocurrency Is For Adults: Bringing Responsibility Into Focus

in LeoFinance2 years ago

I'm actually a little torn on where to land on this.

Completely agree with everything you said, and I appreciate the overall message, but in this case it is possible these celebrities were using their status in a scam of sorts, and just getting sued isn't the final word on it.

While I understand the feeling of general disgust when regarding this as a lack of responsibility, which I, too, have not doubt it was, I also tend to want to welcome this so the masses can hear this discussion, specifically, play out.

We do live in a world that tells us we're looked after and we have been conditioned to turn to authority rather than handle our own problems, which is fine if the situation actually calls for it, but more often than not there's no need and it's more detrimental that helpful in the long run.

So, to sum it up, I think this is actually a pretty good thing for a few reasons...
depending, of course on whether it works out as it should, or if it's just another talking point for assholes who want control...

Sort:  

So anyone who touts anything should be sued in your opinion if it doesnt work out?

So if you make a comment on YouTube touting Hive, lets say, and it goes down, you are eligible to be sued also?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Absolutely not. I didn't mean to indicate that. I don't think people should be hassled for having an opinion. I'm speaking specifically to point that if celebrities use influence to shill anything fraudulently the public should at least know the details and charges should be pursued, but we already do that so I don't think I'm advocating for anything new or unwarranted.

In this case, specifically, I don't know enough details to know if there is legit concern there was a pump and dump strategy in place or if it really is as simple as it seems, that Kimmy saw something of interest and happened to mention it in passing, but the environment is pretty primed for celebrities to step in and take advantage in shady ways, so I don't really think this is surprise to see unfold.

I think the confusion in what I was saying earlier comes from the point I meant to make about the circus that will likely unravel around all this, putting on public display the idea that personal responsibility is making it's way back into the mainstream. If there isn't a scam or intent to defraud uncovered, or, even better, it gets thrown out of court for all the reasons it should be thrown out, that's a pretty solid message telling everyone personal accountability matters.

At least I think that's what I meant. I've had a busy day and may well have a wire crossed somehwere...

Absolutely not. I didn't mean to indicate that. I don't think people should be hassled for having an opinion. I'm speaking specifically to point that if celebrities use influence to shill anything fraudulently the public should at least know the details and charges should be pursued, but we already do that so I don't think I'm advocating for anything new or unwarranted.

In this case, specifically, I don't know enough details to know if there is legit concern there was a pump and dump strategy in place or if it really is as simple as it seems, that Kimmy saw something of interest and happened to mention it in passing, but the environment is pretty primed for celebrities to step in and take advantage in shady ways, so I don't really think this is surprise to see unfold.

I think the confusion in what I was saying earlier comes from the point I meant to make about the circus that will likely unravel around all this, putting on public display the idea that personal responsibility is making it's way back into the mainstream. If there isn't a scam or intent to defraud uncovered, or, even better, it gets thrown out of court for all the reasons it should be thrown out, that's a pretty solid message telling everyone personal accountability matters.

At least I think that's what I meant. I've had a busy day and may well have a wire crossed somehwere...