You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Half a Unicorn, No Bunny

in LeoFinance3 years ago

The value in MTG is cards on the Reserved List, to put it simply.. cards that will NEVER be re-printed. As a long term investor in this paper card game, that is all I focus on now.., besides sealed product, both of which take up space.

I hope the Splinterlands team take heed of this list and never re-issue older cards in some kind of Anthology thing, else the confidence will leave the investors. I have a feeling they know only too well the history of MtG and what has gone before.

Sort:  

Reprinting is an interesting problem to have, though I wonder if there is a marker of time of print in there. On SL, are there secondary tournament markets yet?

The difference between MtG and SPL, is that the latter is a digital product and the marketplace controlled centrally, whereas in MtG trades are done outside the controls of Wizards of the Coast.

WOTC therefore make nothing on the secondary sales, unlike Aggy and co who take a cut of the transaction fees. It would be years if anything like that would even be thought about I wager.

However, is there anything stopping trades done outside the central market? It still has to be written through an API to the chain somewhere, but it doesn't have to be controlled centrally - I think.

Trading is not an issue. Slob is talking about printing more cards. For example, all Zaku s are already printed (missing a few that are yet to be opened). There will be no more Zaku. Unless they print again... and I know they won't. Aggy himself was a MTG player and I am a Pokémon player. That's a big NO NO, in card games. I wouldn't worry about it.

What I wonder is, if there was a digital reprint, would it be able to be filtered out of "usage" by a secondary service. I don't think they would do this (as there is no need), just wondering.

There could be a centennial reprint edition! My grandkids may buy it :)

"Back in my day, having a Zaku meant something..."