How SPI made $10k+ from Splinterlands with no deck

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

Hello, SPIer's. Most of our aware that Splinterlands has been going crazy over the past few weeks because of all the new additions and partnerships that have been creating. You might think that because SPinvest does not play Splinterlands we have missed out but SPinvest has its hand in everything and there are many ways to invest in Splinterlands other than owning a deck of cards. Many moons ago when SPinvest was broke and seeking cheap investments that held a chance of mooning, we found steemmonster packs tokens. These at the time were perfect and actually become our first investment worth over 1000 STEEM. They were cheap, had a limited mintage and we knew that as new decks were released, the value would increase. Lucky for us lots of people play Splinterlands daily and the game has been growing from strength to strength since which has been excellent for our investment.

image.png

Spinvest bought both ALPHA and BETA pack tokens back then. Let's have a look at how our investment is doing today.

Bought 17 ALPHA pack tokens at $3.20 each

image.png

Today, We have 7 listed at prices of 900 HIVE plus and we hold 10 in our wallet to get some SPS rewards every day. If the price climbs to over 1000, we might sell another 5 pack tokens. I would say we'll always hold the last 5 packs because in 5-10 years, we never know. Those things could be viewed as collectables and people might pay silly prices per pack, like $5k+ plus. The last market sell was for 849 HIVE so based on that, the 17 we hold are worth 14,433 HIVE or $6456. $6456 on an investment of $54.

Total investment - $54.40
Today's value - $6,456
ROI - 11,767%

Bought 40 BETA pack tokens at $2.81 each

image.png

Today, we hold 32 of these tokens in total, 2 on the market at 250 HIVE each and 30 in our wallet collecting SPS rewards. The other 8 were sold yesterday for 250 HIVE each. The plan will be the same for these as the ALPHA packs. I'll sell them in batches of 5 as the price increases over time until we hold 10 packs. When we have 10 packs, we hold them for the same reason as holding 5 ALPHA packs.

Total investment - $112
Todays value - $3576
Already cashed out - $894
ROI - 3,891%

Combined
Total investment for both ALPHA and BETA - $166.40
Today's value - $10,032
ROI to date - 5,928%

If you think SPI missed out on the Splinterlands gold rush, we have 9,865 friends that would disagree. Im certain in saying that the SPS we have earned over the past 2-3 weeks is worth more than $35 so SPI has made 5 figures from Splinterlands, only just. That's only to be the title.

image.png

Super low circulating supply

When you look at the circulating supply of these tokens, you'll see that @steemmonsters holds the vast majority of these tokens and the actually circulating supply that is available for P2P trade is much smaller than you'd think. I have no idea what the Splinterlands teams plans are for those ALPHA & BETA pack tokens but i dont think they'll be listing them for sale on hive-engine, maybe use them for giveaways are something, maybe they will burn them, who knows. From my eye, people seem to send token packs to this account and then it burns some of them. Anyways, i consider steemmonsters holdings to be out of general circulation but still in existence. Let's look at ALPHA first

image.png

When you click on the ALPHA pack token "I" for information, it'll tell you that 6,555 tokens are in circulation. When we remove steemonsters 5729 from BELOW, we are left with 826 packs in circulation and Marky owns half of them FFS. I bet you are surprised at how how little ALPHA pack tokens are really out there. It would be only to think that 6555 are sitting in many peoples wallets but you can see that you only need 10 ALPHA tokens to buy a top 10 holder.

image.png

When you click on the BETA pack token "I" for information, it'll tell you that 34,670 tokens are in circulation. If we remove steemmonsters holdings of 33,468, there is 1202 that are available for P2P trading. Almost half being held by inertia. Again, you only need to hold 30 BETA to be the top 10.

image.png

You are probably a little shocked at just how little of those tokens you need to be one of the top holders. These have turned into a great investment for SPinvest, maybe even the best investment we ever do. It's not every day we ROI 11,700%. I understand those are still paper profits but ALPHA's have traded at up to 990 HIVE and we've already sold BETA at 250 HIVE so our guess is a good ballpark guess.

Both our ALPHA and BETA investments cost us $166.40 and we've cashed out $894 already so we are already winning to the tune of $727.60 and freerolling with 17 ALPHA and 32 BETA pack tokens. This is our best ROI to date for sure and we were super lucky to have bought them 18 months ago.

image.png

What do think? What riches have the Splinterlands gold rush brought you? I know alot of people play and are involved with it and going by the volumes i see on hive-engine for their tokens, I see there's alot of money involved.

Thanks for taking the time to read today's SPinvst post. I wish i could report this sort of ROI every day but we'll take it :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I have a few more than 30 beta packs that I'm hodl'g. I might open a few of them. Haven't decided. I wonder what the ROI is on my Splinterlands investment. It must be insane. 😁

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

How do you guys manage to resist. Once bought it's as good as opened.

How do you guys manage to resist

It's easy. My luck is terrible so hodling is easier than dealing with the constant disappointment of crap openings. 😂

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I bet if you open 2 youd make profit.
NFA

I opened one recently and got 1 rare and 4 commons which happens a lot and is why I find it easier to hodl. 😁

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I did the same with an UNTAMED booster.

Instantly regreted opening it.

Damn, you are able to resit opening them? well done :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's easy when your luck is as crap as mine. I once opened 1100 and didn't get a single GFL. 😱 Nothing much has changed since then. I opened one the other day and got 1 rare and 4 commons. 😂

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This is a great story. This encourages me to try to invest in things in the start to make use of low price.
Enjoy the profit.

Just got lucky, i hope it keeps growing :)

Thank you for checking out the post

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

SPI IS KILLING IT id said hodl the rest!
NFA

These things could be selling for $1000+ someday. It's a fooking madness, im loving it

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Splinterlands is one of the best investment I’ve made in a while.

I don't know if I trust the numbers correctly. I have some untamed packs in the Splinterlands ecosystem. These would still be in circulation but not in Hive engine.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Im sure there are unopened ALPHA packs out there. Would be interesting to know exactly. You've just made me think that maybe the holding of steemmonsters are pack from the game.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Legendary ;)

Great work team!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks my friend. I think it was a voted on investment as well :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Really solid investment, these kinds of returns in no time are only really possible in crypto. It's insane :-)

I never thought i'd have ever seen returns like this for everything. Im loving up, lets hope that more people play Splinterlands and keep pushing the price of these things to Mars

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

and Marky owns half of them FFS.

This made me laugh out loud then my heart sunk as the reality of that statement settled in. I love this place! I find little bursts of joy and bliss in the most unlikely places here. 😁

I quit my job. Now I just play Splinterlands. Next year I’m gonna do it from the back of a motorcycle all over the U.S.

Hopefully I will write the same for my untamed packs in future (curated by r1s2g3)
Your post has been manually curated by @monster-curator Team!

Get instant cashback for every cards purchase on MonsterMarket.io. MonsterMarket shares 60% of the revenue generated, no minimum spending is required. Join MonsterMarket Discord.

Monster-Curator-Monster-Market.png

I opened all my packs because I play the game, I can't resist! hahaha, so no good investment decisions for me.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I will look for a way to buy all this token for future use

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

at these prices, this ship has already sailed for average plebs like myself. The question is: what can we buy cheap now that has a chance to moon like that in the future ?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Many people say that Splinterlands is not profitable as it does not generate much DEC daily, but this proves the opposite, rather splinterlands is for long term HODLers.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I didn't have the will power to hold boosters during Alpha or BETA but I did manage to hold about 85 UNTAMED and 20 ORBS. I don't see me selling either anytime soon. From my understanding some of the Alpha/Beta packs displayed in the Steemmonsters account belong to players. Likely the ones that are being held in game but I'm not 100% sure on the accuracy of my memory.

Good job with your ROI.

!BEER


Hey @spinvest, here is a little bit of BEER from @rentmoney for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I believe that the SteemMonsters account is where the packs go when they are sitting in players' Spinterlands accounts, as opposed to in their Hive accounts. once they are opened, they are sent to null. So the packs in the SteemMonsters accounts are for the most part unopened packs, in circulation. I don't know how many, if any, are owned by the SL team.