You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Unwritten Rules of Hive

in LeoFinance2 years ago
  • It is OK to upvote your own posts (but not your comments)

  • Don´t do meaningless mass comments, like "great post, sir" etc. as they are considered as spam.

  • If you quote a text from somebody else, add the source/reference

  • Always add sources of the pics you use

Sort:  

Great stuff! Thanks for that! That last one can be a bit sticky. I think one of the official rules is no plagiarism, so by default sourcing pics should fall into that category, but many don't see it that way or outright ignore it. I guess maybe it is important enough to mention both places!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Another unspoken rule is, if you add a pic to the www, like posting a meme on Twitter, everybody can use it right?
Otherwise, if you add a pic to the www and don´t want it to be used, you always put there a copyright and a disclsimer that it is licenced, etc.
So if I don´t find such a disclaimer, I guess it is OK to use it (and reference the source). Just my way how I do this since years.

I try to use my own photos just to avoid this sort of thing. In the rare cases I can't. I try to get it from pixabay and I make sure it is free for use. It's a tough one and a lot of people have differing views on it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

A sound approach!

great comment sir :D