You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Demystifying HIVE: What are Witnesses?

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I think more people need to check if the witnesses they voted for are still active. Some have stopped operating. We need votes to count. I support those I see doing good work for Hive. I easily use up all my votes, so I can have issues when a new good one crops up as I hate to drop any. I think most of the top ones can manage without my vote.

Sort:  

So many witnesses are keeping their rank due to a few votes which haven't been removed but the user hasn't been active on the platform.

Exactly. There has been talk about having expiring votes, but for the witnesses to approve that is like turkeys voting for Christmas/Thanksgiving ;)

I would love for that to be implemented as it would ensure that dead stake wouldn't be voting. I'll always push for it where I can and I hope that it is something that gets implemented into Hive in the near future.

Maybe witnesses could lose their positions if they are inactive. We should at least keep encouraging people to vote.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I dropped a couple just a few days ago. People I have either never interacted with or I just didn't make a connection with (despite trying). I chatted with several at both SteemFests and some were more friendly than others.

Not everyone who is a geek can have a personality I suppose, but most were OK. I now have 2 free slots to use at will.

Having met a few at Steemfest has had some influence on my votes. It's good to get to know the person behind the name. I have had some ask me why I dropped them, so they do monitor the votes.