My Journey Away From Hive, Getting Scammed, And Coming Back

in LeoFinance2 years ago (edited)

photo-1493836512294-502baa1986e2.jfif

Photo by Nik Shuliahin via Unsplash

I was unemployed in a foreign country and loved writing on Hive, even though every post took me hours to complete and a lot of my posts misfired into getting zero upvotes. I had followed a staking game for a couple months and restaked it until I reached the top level. The top level paid out an incredible $400+ a day and everything in my body said that it was just not sustainable. I felt like all day I had to tell myself to stop thinking.

I was able to make three large withdrawals, get my wife really excited at the prospect of paying off a lot of debt, insomuch she told all her friends. I also bit the bullet and decided, what the hell, I've been involved with it for 6 months, at this point I was just being selfish to not go public with such a good thing.

SO, I told everyone I knew. I begged my mom and my best friend and my family to join, so they could also experience what it's like not to worry about money. Something I hadn't felt in 18 years. I was exactly one day away from getting my mom to invest when the site shut down and converted everyone's staked crypto into their brand new worthless token that isn't even listed on any exchange yet.

This was the day before thanksgiving. Now I'm reading stories upon stories of people impacted by it. since most are not throwaway money investors. There are some stories of people putting in their life savings, a very big no no, but it was too tempting with a 7-month track record and a 34 day ROI. I've been personally responding to a lot of these people, trying to counsel them, trying to come up with some alternative to help ease the pain.

What's funny is that at nearly the exact same time, Hive decided to skyrocket, and although I don't have a lot of it powered up to change my life in any way, it did catch my eye. My original plan was to buy 1,000s of chaos legion packs in a couple weeks to resell and to see if any gold legendary cards were at a great price once those flooded the marketplace. Also, invest in one of the 10x gaming tokens that pop up every day.

So I'm inviting them over to the hive. Where you can make an honest dollar for an honest story.

Thanks for reading.