Right Age to Start Investments

in LeoFinance2 years ago

Have you started earning yet? What about Savings and Investments? Do you think you are too young to start saving and investing? Is there even any defined age to start investing?

Let's discuss it in detail - one of the most crucial topics of our life, yet understated for a long time.

Untitled design.png
Source

I started to earn when I was 24 years old (the actual bank salary I mean). I used my 1st salary to buy gifts for my family. Then the 2nd one to buy me an iPhone. And I think I used another 2-3 salaries to enjoy and spend on my wants (not needs). Was it the right decision? I VOTE NO!

We go crazy when we get our first few salaries. We can't demand everything from our parents. So when we get our own salaries, we feel the need to splurge on things we have always wanted. Just like I did. And then the savings and investments start late. We don't realize but by then, we lose a lot of time.

A lot of people ask me why should we save so much. We have our medical insurance in place to cover any medical emergency. Apart from that, some savings for the education of the child and some more for any bad times should be enough. Then why to invest a bulk of our salaries?

A very simple answer to this question is - financial freedom. If you want to work till you live (with a need I mean), you are on the right path. Just keep some for emergencies and spend the rest of it. But you can't retire any day in your life with this pattern. If you invest correctly from the right age, you get to be financially free and independent very early in your life and thus retire (at will) and relax and travel and enjoy for the remaining portion of your life.

By this I don't mean we don't enjoy our early years, they are the best time to enjoy. But not at the cost of investments. No matter how much we feel that life is short and we should enjoy the present and blah blah, life is not that short indeed.

So when should we start to invest?

Start right from your first salary. It could be a meager amount, you can still keep a lot of it to splurge and buy gifts but a portion of it should be invested. Subsequently, when you have met your wants, increase that percentage. Eventually, at least 40% of your salary must be invested. That's when you should sit a little relaxed.

We don't realize this early in life but trust me, the ones who do are the ones who are at the top right now. And we just keep thinking how they made it to that spot.

Happy Weekend!

Sort:  

Savings and investments are no doubt recommended for everyone. So, I share your thoughts, though, I still believe there should be more investments than savings. Unless, one have created a solid and future-proofed system of savings designed to accommodate for inflation and the constant changes associated with finance generally.

Whatever the case, a little savings is better than no savings!

Yea for sure, savings are honestly an illusion. We take them out too easily. But investments are hard to take out (I mean we can’t count it as our liquid cash) and hence better. Obviously the interest that comes with it is an add on.

I think the earlier the better for investing. This is what is missing in our schools back then the importance of investing and compounding interest. We are just thought of study hard, get a work and then retire from the government insurance that is all. But growing up, we learned the hard way that there's more than that.

I can relate to your first salary experience I had that too when I received my first paycheck at work. I splurged and after a week I am asking money from my parents.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Haha, I guess it’s same for everyone since we are not given any training around fund management and investment early in life. Even our parents don’t teach a bit of it to us.

Lessons of Lifetime. There is always right time and right opportunity for investment. Savings and investment should be our habit and managing one's finances is an art !LUV !PIZZA

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@vikbuddy(2/10) tipped @sugandhaseth (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Congratulations @sugandhaseth! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 6000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 6250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

The best age to invest is...yesterday, or even better...a few years ago)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I have been working for more than a year just last month I look back at my bank balance then I started to realise what i was doing with my salary where it was ? 😂 Merely i wasted my one and half year salary. From 2 weeks i was following the Google sheet to keep track of my expenses. Looking forward how it works 😅

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta