You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Real Estate Takes Another Hit

in LeoFinance2 years ago

I see that around here now also, houses sitting for over a month or better while last summer they were being sold within a matter of days. People who bought at inflated prices are going to be in for a shock. During 2007-8 crash, right before that they had my place at almost 130 thousand, once the crash took hold it fell every year for years until if it had fell another seven thousand it's value would have went below what I paid for it, back than 17 to 18 years prior.

There was one house I'd always had a thing for on the other side of town, it went up for sale and they wouldn't even take my offer despite it was twenty five thousand over the state equalized value for it. The lady said the guy wanted it listed for four hundred thousand and if he couldn't get it he wasn't selling, she said she already had offers over that. I offered 275 on a 254 valued home and basically, the surrounding neighborhood. It wasn't even a four hundred thousand dollar neighborhood. Lucky it was a two family with the way rents are they'll save themselves some agony but I highly doubt they'll get two thousand a month in rent for that upstairs apartment. I bid on it during the last housing crash but someone out bid me. Nice large house with an exceptionally large yard, had a walk out basement with plumbing for a basement bathroom. I was just envisioning a nice size pool, a bathroom where people aren't tracking all wet into the house and plenty of room for a garden and play area for grand kids.