You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you own what you bought?

in LeoFinance4 years ago

Yep, I understand the design issues associated with old browsers etc.

Room for abuse? -
https://money.cnn.com/2017/12/21/technology/apple-slows-down-old-iphones/index.html

The issue with things like speakers though is that they are physical components that should effectively last until they die. 5 years on a speaker that is not cheap is a very short lifecycle in an industry where people have speakers that are 30 years old. Imagine if B&O did the same or like my friend has in his "home theatre" where there is 300k€ of Genelec speakers and a 100k€ projector.

Sort:  

There is always room for abuse x_x

I'm guessing the speakers and bulbs have wifi components or something inside them that would eventually obsolete as well, I don't know enough about hardware development and cycles to know how long the older ones "should" be supported for.

Only 5 years for speakers is a bit much to ask though >_<

Yeah, there is wifi in them, as well as other communication stuff I guess. IoT allows for them to make anything obsolete when they want. I'd be pretty annoyed if I paid 500€ for a hub and 1000€ for speakers last year that no longer worked.