You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Looking buffer

in LeoFinance4 years ago

However, if you are willing to work on your own until the next job opportunity, it is possible to get by with modest investment income.

In Finland, it is common for people not to work below their education - and everyone is educated. This works in my favor ;)

Hard work does not frighten me. So, I'm willing to do things that many workers would refuse to do, such as work hard.

I am answering line by line - see above :D but yeah, it is becoming a rare skill, - willingness to work hard at anything.

However, they are enough to boost my current income, which helps boost my savings rate.

I wish more people saw it this way - A saving stream, rather than an income stream.

I know it sounds bad; but, if the economy turns for the worse and I lose my job, I'm defaulting on debts and keeping my cash.

I think many are taking this tact - even if they don't have the cash. Live now - default later. I think it is better to have the cash plan than just the "live now" approach.

Hopefully this works out well enough that when I reach retirement it won't be with a drop in income.

25 years til retirement for me thereabouts - fingers crossed, nose to the grindstone.

Sort:  

25 years sounds like a great deal of time until you realize that the last 25 went by so quickly. I'm feeling some urgency to my savings as I am between 11 and 20 years to retirement, depending on how well I am able to save. The closer that date comes, the smaller the margin of error.

Posted Using LeoFinance

I completely agree. I feel like 25 years is just around the corner and it worries me that I am so unprepared.