You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stake it or leave it: Is Hive worth it?

in LeoFinance4 years ago

Not for me, at the moment at least. If it were, I would go and deliver ads for €5 per hour (after taxes) with getting cardio as the main motive and the money as a way to maximize the value of my time - and buy HIVE for it. That would actually be a better way for me to maximize my investment in HIVE.

But.... are you willing? I have brought this up many times in the past (I have a post earlyish 2017 on this I think). Often when people complain about the rewards, the don't have one job, let alone are willing to take a second. Then, once working - how many are willing to convert into Hive?

It is a similar argument for "if I had bought BTC at 1 dollar" - how many would have actually held?

I got the offer by just posting what I normally post to a local Facebook group.

I once got paid several hundred dollars an hour for modelling work - if only I could work 20 hours a week as a model for the last 20 years ;D

You're forgetting there's a third option. In any first world country, it would actually be illegal or against collective labor agreements to pay as little as even someone who is probably in the top 5% is paid her hour for posting to Hive. From a purely financial standpoint, I should take up a second job and invest that money in HIVE.

Same as a above - you should - but will you?

If I had spent that time cleaning toilets and earned at least ten times as much, it would be worth $2800.

I am yet to meet many educated Finns willing to clean toilets - even as a second job. People fight for more responsibility for a 5-10% pay increase, yet a couple of night shifts at McDonald's or stacking shelves at Prisma a week would get them not only more, but would be easy and responsibility free.

Sort:  

"If I had spent that time cleaning toilets and earned at least ten times as much, it would be worth $2800."

I am yet to meet many educated Finns willing to clean toilets - even as a second job. People fight for more responsibility for a 5-10% pay increase, yet a couple of night shifts at McDonald's or stacking shelves at Prisma a week would get them not only more, but would be easy and responsibility free.

The point here is looking at posting to Hive from a purely financial point of view. Again, I enjoy posting to Hive. This is why I'm willing to accept an extremely low hourly pay by my local standards. Because I wouldn't enjoy cleaning toilets one bit, I wouldn't do it as a second job if it wasn't quite well paid or if I didn't have a job at all and I was forced to.