You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Backing the future horse

in LeoFinance4 years ago

you might get bored with it, might miss the stress of the change, might need to look for another project home.

Yes, but it doesn't have to be a project home, it can be some other kind of project - like getting a six-pack - one of those "impossible" aims ;D

I do think that if we were to sell, the project might be to live in Australia - but that would be a little way down the track.

One day I will be able to start on this house, I hope next year health is not so much of an issue nor is societies fears to much of an issue.

I hope you will be able to do what you want with this. I like the idea of working forever and I think that there is additional value in working at something loved and value-adding.

Sort:  

Houses can kind of become like hobbies in a way, kind of like the car re-builders. I never planned on doing a lot to my first house, I was still rather young, but after a bit I got wrapped up in the change it to make it fit for me. That is how we turn a house into a home, our personal touches. I hope you are able to enjoy the home for a long long time. I led a semi nomadic kind of life, always restarting every few years, I do not regret it at all.

But like I mentioned a few post back or somewhere in a comment, I miss not watching the trees grow or not seeing the changes that take place so slowly over time you miss them. I've been back to old homes, old towns, and am always amazed at the change and the growth, but I have never really lived through those changes and growth, and wonder if I would have noticed them if I had stayed.

We like to think we control our destiny, I am not so sure on that point. I do know that sometimes, some of us feel like we have done all we can and it is time to move on and explore, restart, see new vistas and new horizons; to provide the stories of far and different lands thoughts and ideas. Others are content to stay, to watch the change, to look for the change to be agents of the local change, to provide way-stations for those that need to move, and to provide an ear for the stories being told.

Home renovations can become a way of life, you know if it will be when you get ready to move and look at new houses with an eye for what could be instead of what is there.

!ENGAGE 25

That is how we turn a house into a home, our personal touches.

I sometimes wonder that after we eventually move on - what kinds of people will come in here to remodel it for their life and culture.

but I have never really lived through those changes and growth, and wonder if I would have noticed them if I had stayed.

I predict you wouldn't have paid much attention. We tend not to when things are too close to our face and it is like that quote, life happens while we are doing other things.

We like to think we control our destiny, I am not so sure on that point.

I don't think we have much control - it is more like Buzz Lightyear - falling with style.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.