You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: OK Boomer wealth solutions

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I actually hope that I wasn't the arrogant young person that I see so often

IIt is funny. I was just thinking about myself after reading this line and perhaps I kind of was - but I mostly raised myself from a very young age and wasn't surrounded with a lot of good role models often. Having to take responsibility young, has good sides and bad sides.

I was fortunate with parents that struggled in the early part of their life and so they instilled saving and the habit of saving up for something rather than instant gratification.

In Finland, this was the case for the "last" generation - as the now great grandparents saw war, their kids grew up very poor, but their kids (the parents today) have only known good times fo rthe most part, as they are too young to really onboard the blip of the early 90s.

I have found many times that by the time I have saved up enough money for something that I really really want, I'm over it.

This is a fabulous lesson and why credit is such a disaster for many people. They don't get a chance to lose interest, they buy the hype, the impulse. I also agree about the cars - people who appreciate what they own, care for it.

It is hard being a parent these days I think - as while we are trying to teach our kids, we are simultaneously still addicted to the things we are warning them against. Total hypocrites! :D