You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If Content Is A Numbers Game, We're Losing.

in LeoFinancelast year

The problem is, once people are producing what is available everywhere else for free, there is no value to have it here. The only way the numbers game works on Hive, is if it has a couple hundred million users and adverts, where the ad revenue is used to buy back hive that is being sold on the market etc. It is possible, but in order for the numbers game on content to work, onboarding will have to be made for more than earning Hive from the inflation pool, because the vast majority will earn absolutely nothing, because there isn't that much Hive.

I see it more like a niche sport - there can be a lot of money in it, even if it only appeals to a small number. It doesn't have to be soccer, it can be sailing.

Sort:  

So much this. I'm going to soon, one day, write a heartfelt post about the transformative power of a karaoke experience I had with family (not a joke, and I swear, I'm not on drugs) - and it will be a deeply emotional personal account, with photographs and confessions the like you'd not expect from a "man" in contemporary society.

It'll be my masterpiece.

It'll be my masterpiece.

Wouldn't it be marvelous if people actually cared enough to put their heart into making their masterpiece?

I'll try. I have my ups and downs when it comes to the stuff that I output, but I like to think that I'm consistent in terms of the drive to want to say what I want to say.

Whether its worth saying, whether it is worth reading, it is for the void to decide.

I completely agree with the statement: "what is available everywhere else for free, there is no value to have it here".

I think there is a need for exclusivity, but obviously it isn't the only thing that matters.

Strangely, I think that attacking a niche is fine, but I don't know if we can create enough clamor because of this already being a niche kind of place (if that makes sense). We're narrowing down, on an already narrow pool of creators. To magnify a piece of content in that environment, it would have to be some really attention grabbing stuff.

Mind you, this conversation doesn't do much for "attention-grabbing" as it is only one that would be discussed by our community. (I guess I'm part of the problem.)

It is an interesting problem, because it shows how full of shit most crypto people are. If they really wanted to support a decentralized future, they wouldn't be shilling their tokens on Twitter, they would be pulling people into places like Hive to shill their tokens. Large and diverse communities of crypto people, banked up on crypto, talking and supporting crypto, showing how a decentralized, multi-token community with a thousand chains interacting together would create a stable economy, protected by the numbers.

But no, they support the centralized platforms, because that is where the people are.