You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Getting off the endless ladder

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I wonder if many struggle with the traditional thought of content ownership and ability to create sticky content that generates eyes and income for much longer than 7 days.

Wonder no more - Yes they do!

The people with larger followings think that link dropping here will last forever, as if we owe them something for their content, even though it brings nothing to our community. No one knows they are here but us and all their links are leading somewhere else.

When it comes to the 7-day window, it does have an effect where people say "but I will only get paid for 7 days, why bother?" - My answer is that I get "paid" (it isn't really paid, it is rewarded) daily, both on the content I create when I post and in curation on other people's posts. It has taken over four years of content creation to be able to get rewarded daily, but as far as bloggers go, my earnings aren't reliant on the platform owners (there are none) or advertisers - it is my readers directly who I interact with and build relationships with - it is a community that can support itself - as long as it isn't bled dry.