You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 4 Reasons Why Bitcoin Will Not Be The World's Reserve Currency

I tend to use LTC for my non-Hive transactions too.

BTC is the secure chain so I cant fault anyone for using it. The fees mean it will not be used as a means of payment for everyday stuff.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I have my love and respect for BTC, but for everyday payments, yes, there are much better options for sure.

If you use lightening it’a less then a lite coin fee. Why not use lightening?

  1. Not a Bitcoin maxi, if something else works better for smaller transactions, I use that.

  2. Because not all places or wallets I use are set up to use or accept the lightning network and it's just easier most times to just use Litecoin or Hive. Actually I have been transacting in stablecoins allot lately as well, mainly HBD, BUSD, or UST.

  3. If I have to sit and explain the lightning second layer to someone just to send some money cheaply person to person, I would rather spend that time and one of my account creation tokens and get them signed up to Hive.

  4. Layer 1s are always more secure to transact than layer 2.

I don’t see how it being complicated means it’s a wall to using it makes much sense. Second layer has been in works as a known needed addition for most of the time crypto has been around. If someone isn’t experienced with it in general it’s quite complicated just to explain regular crypto to a brand new user. Nothing worth it isn’t complicated and any blockchain at the same volume will have same issue. Respect the difference of opinion. It just doesn’t make sense to me. Any blockchain will have this issue at same volume if it’s proof of work.
just my take. Cheers

The fees are almost nothing if you use lightening. Why would the argument not include this?