You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CryptoFreedom Not Cryptocurrency

Unfortunately, those who talk about freedom, especially as it pertains to crypto, are just that: talk. The reason I say that is they do it on the centralized platforms and refuse to leave. That is where their followers are.

Hence, the idea of them using a Hive instead of medium or 3Speak over YouTube is not going to happen. We tried it many times and just get overlooked.

Thus we have to make our own way in my opinion, pull in our own followers, and become the stars.

Let the rest of them try and play in our sandbox down the road.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

“Unfortunately, those who talk about freedom, especially as it pertains to crypto, are just that: talk. The reason I say that is they do it on the centralized platforms and refuse to leave. That is where their followers are.”

Yeah, but this isn’t that, I think..., this feels more like a situation like we got in the early days, wherein everyone who didn’t actually look for themselves just thought btc was for buying drugs on the dark web. This guy knows btc exists and writes it off as a speculative investment at best. He knows nothing of alt coins, blockchain, defi or decentralization in general. He’s also one of those who criticizes the social media he uses for being problematic, but, like everyone else, doesn’t know alternatives exist. The point is he’s a busy dude doing what I consider good work educating whoever will listen and I’d like to empower him to get more out of it there and while I think it would be awesome for HIVE to have people like him that’s not my primary focus. The idea is to have a conduit that shows alternatives to the status quo.

Having said, that, however, I don’t disagree with the rest of your reply, but I think a big part of what you pointed out is people just not realizing they have the key to the cage they’re in. Most of us don’t just wake up from the matrix. Someone has to show the way. I was “lucky” enough to be in a position to have nothing but time to explore these ideas for an extended period of time, and got lucky again that I was intrigued from the start, but most people just don’t have that option or the interest in technology to try to squeeze another minute out of the day to explore something that’s so foreign it’s incomprehensible to them at a mere glance.

I feel like I’m starting to rant so I’m gonna stop now, but I think for this movement to really gain traction we’re gonna need to find a way to interest people enough to motivate them to stick it out long enough to understand what they’re actually looking at and from what I can see the space is so convoluted with ideology and potential scams it’s nearly impossible for the average person with no understanding to be drawn in close enough to get a good look at what’s here.

Edit to add I sent you a message on bee chat in peakd but since it’s still new’ish I don’t know if you use it and I couldn’t find you on discord. If you have a minute I’d like your thoughts.