Sort:  

Not at all. I've changed majors a few times. Currently taking Human Services/Addiction Studies.

Social workers helped my family as we were dirt poor when I was a kid. "Welfare" was a dirty word in my family and we were so poor that we had to bring our school lunch home to feed five kids (including two infants). Of course there was no husband around and mom refused to seek help.

At one point, all we had to eat was a box of starch and some butter, I kid you not. Mom was raised on a farm and country folks from that area tend to be fiercely independant and considered welfare to be for drug addicts and freeloaders. That was drilled into us as kids. "Don't be a freeloader, make your own way."

I begged her to apply for welfare, but it was the social worker and the pastor who finally convinced her. She would rather starve than apply, but they told her "If you want to starve yourself, that's fine, but you have no right to starve these kids." She applied and six months later she found a job and called welfare to be taken off, they were astonished! Nobody ever asked to be removed from benefits! But she did. She was so happy to be off the dole and I was so proud of her!

So that's why I wanted to give back.

It's a lot of psych stuff and a ton or writing. We have to choose two theroies to contrast and compare. I chose Person-Centered Therapy vs Existential Therapy. A lot of psycho-babble. They pick apart every little word, phrase and comma. They even take points off for invisible spaces at the end of a paragraph that none of us can see. A real headache. Thank goodness it's just about done.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta