You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Matrix Is Not The Same Without Real Morpheus - Laurence Fishburne

I felt the same way. I loved Laurence Fishburne as Morpheus. He played the role perfectly. It was really hard accepting this new Morpheus.

We've seen The Matrix franchise do this before with The Oracle.

Neil Patrick Harris was a pleasant surprise. He did justice to Smith's character IMHO. Like The Oracle, Smith could really become anyone.

I also like how they built on the parallels of Neo and Agent Smith. That was interesting indeed.

I didn't like the way they introduced the new Morpheus either. I won't expand on that because I'd rather not post spoilers just yet. It was a brilliant way to introduce a new actor for the part though. I found it a bit hard to swallow though. Laurence Fishburne Morpheus was one of my favorite characters!

It looks like they left an open ending so I'll be shocked if we don't see some new movies in the future. To me, this almost seemed like the movie that introduces this generation to The Matrix and it's preparing everyone for the real movie to come. I found this first NEW one a little lacking though.

They could really take this into some interesting directions though. I did like the message at the end. Again, no spoilers so I'll just leave it at that!

Great review! Cheers!