My Silver/ Gold Christmas Wish List Day 5 / Re-Blog lottery!

in LeoFinance5 months ago

The #silvergoldstackers community have an ongoing Christmas wish list challenge. The goal is to share twelve days of our Christmas wish lists of silver or gold items we want to add to our collection. The last few I have shared were way outside of my personal price range at the time being (hopefully that will change with a nice bull run!) Today I wanted to share something much more in my realistic price range. As much fun as it is to dream of the things we would like, sometimes we have to accept reality!

Today I am also for the first time an Inleo premium member. I previously used Leo for most of my posts back when the Beta version was up and running. Once we went to alpha I ran into problems with my photos or videos just not showing up so I transitioned onto other platforms. I am hoping today will be a fantastic experience now that those bugs have been remedied.

I have enjoyed collecting silver and gold coins, rounds, and bars for years. It's a great hobby as well as an investment (in my humble opinion anyway.) One coin I have always tried to collect yearly is the one tenth of a Troy ounce gold eagles. The main reason behind that is the design. It's a beautiful and elegant design first introduce to US coins in 1907 in $20 gold double eagle designed by Augustus Saint-Gaudens. In 1986 the US mint began production of gold eagle coins in the sizes of one Troy ounce, 1/2 a Troy ounce, 1/4 a Troy ounce, and 1/10 a Troy ounce.

They were immediately a huge hit with collectors and sold extremely well. However in 1988 they ran into a snag in production on the 1/10 of a Troy ounce proof version only producing 143,811 coins. The scarcity has made this a much more valuable item. I found one once at a jeweler's shop but in was a little scratched up, and I've always wanted a perfect specimen. That's what I am sharing today for my day 5 of my Christmas wish list, a 1988 ultra cameo proof grade PF 70 1/10 of an once golden eagle coin.

photos from eBay

About the coin:
Country: United States of America
Mint: Philadelphia
Denomination: $5 US
Composition: 91.7% gold, 3% silver, 5.3% copper
Weight: 3.393 grams
Diameter: 16.5 mm
Thickness: 1.19 mm
Obverse: Liberty standing with date and mint mark
Reverse: A bald eagle in flight above a nest with hatchlings
Design of the obverse: Augustus Saint-Gaudens

It's a beautiful coin, isn't it? It really is a shame the US doesn't produce coins with the image of Liberty for general circulation, only in the bullion coins. This one usually sells for four hundred US or more depending on where you buy.

Augustus Saint-Gaudens was an Irish immigrant who was a very talented sculptor and artist. He designed what most consider to be the most beautiful American coin ever produced, the $20 Saint-Gaudens double eagle. In the references I have left a link to his Wikipedia page if you are interested in learning more about him. Here's one from 1907, another coin I would love to own but this one is a lot outside of my current budget!
photo from Wikipedia

Beautiful isn't it?
And a picture of it's creator from 1905.
photo from Wikipedia

If you are interested in the #silvergoldstackers community you can feel free to share some silver or gold coins, nuggets, or any other interesting items you may have or see. There is a flowchart below on how to become a fully fledged member if you are interested.

Now for my Inleo journey. I have signed up to a premium membership today and am going to do the best I can to take advantage of it. I have once again started stacking Leo and will continue with stack towards my goal of having at least 1K in Leo, hopefully much more. As I continue this first month of premium membership I will be sharing my progress and experiences as I go. I am always open and appreciate any feedback or recommendations to improve my posts!

Thanks you for stopping by to read about my Christmas wish list, I'm only on day five so I have seven more to complete before the 25th. Have a great weekend everyone! And as always please feel free to leave any comments or questions below.

And my disclaimer:
Gold and silver stacking can be a fun hobby but isn't for everyone. You can lose money. I'm not a financial advisor and this isn't financial advice, please always do your own research before spending your hard earned money.

References:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Augustus_Saint-Gaudens
https://en.numista.com/catalogue/pieces10493.html
https://www.pcgs.com/coinfacts/coin/1988-p-5-gold-eagle-dcam/9819

Re-blog lottery

Now for the winner of the re-blog lottery! Today we had 29 people re-blog my post, thank you so much! The people who re-blogged were:

@absurdanipal
@bitandi
@blitzzzz
@bulliontools
@caleb-marvel
@esbat
@ferod23
@flaxz.alive
@florakese
@ganjafarmer
@geneeverett
@hdmed
@henruc
@hjrrodriguez
@irfanmustafa
@kungfukid
@ladymisa
@maurojd
@mirroredspork
@monsterbuster
@olaf.gui
@oskarl21
@pepetoken1
@scoutroc
@stekene
@trautenberk
@vaynard86
@vrezy
@screamheart

Voluntary daily reminder list for those who request to be on it: @ganjafarmer
If you want to be added to the list as well just feel free to ask!

Thank you everyone! I have been working to improve my engagement and all of you have really helped out! If you have any recommendations or suggestions please feel free to let me know. I'm always looking to improve my posts.

Good luck to everyone!

And the Wheel of Names results:

Congratulations @vrezyy !
You will receive 3 HSBI units!

Now for today's re-blog lottery! You just need to re-blog my post you will be placed on the Wheel of Names for a spin to possibly win 3 HSBI units! Just one prize for the lucky winner. An upvote is not required but is always greatly appreciated. Bots aren't allowed to win the prize. Contest ends at 14:00 (2 PM) California Pacific time tomorrow. If I somehow missed your re-blog please let me know and I'll add you to the next draw.

What are HSBI units? They are units that you can purchase to sponsor someone and you in turn receive a unit as well. This way we both benefit! They give you occasional upvotes on your posts for a lifetime, and the more you accumulate the more often you receive upvotes and the bigger they can be. You can read some more here:

https://hive.blog/hive-189312/@steembasicincome/hive-sbi

If you have more questions feel free to ask.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

All the best in your InLeo Journey my friend.
that is a beautiful coin to have. ; )
hope one day you can have it also.
!DHEGDE !LUV !PIZZA

We will see if it's worth it! So far not even a leo vote though!
!pizza
!luv
!HUG

Dear @ekavieka, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @thebighigg.
(1/3)

I really love this one, man! If only I will ever have a golden one lol.
The previous tip didn't seem to work (dhedge) maybe it was because I just bought the 100, or is there a queue?

!PIMP it :)


You must be killin' it out here!
@thisismylife just slapped you with 5.000 PIMP, @thebighigg.
You earned 5.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 2/3 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District

No it should work unless their bot is down. Try again later it should work! Thanks for the PIMP!
!BBH

@thisismylife! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (4/5)

I don't know, it was 100 Dhedge right? I'm all out of tips again haha.

I just tried it one another post and it worked fine.

Wow!!!
That would be a nice gift!
!BBH

@thebighigg! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @silversaver888. (10/20)

Thanks! I sure think it would be!
!BBH

@silversaver888! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (2/5)

I was going to just put a Gold Eagle on my wish list Lol!😇
Ultra cameo proof PF70 simply beautiful!😀

They are such pretty coins! Thanks!

That they are, even more so in a proof version!🤗

We all must have some gold coins in wallet 🦊👌👌👌👌⛄☃️☕ and cool coin is in this post .

Gold is always good!

That would be a beautiful gift !BBH

@thebighigg! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bitcoinman. (11/50)

Thanks! They're awesome coins!
!BBH

@bitcoinman! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (3/5)

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @thebighigg.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

That's an excellent choice! I didn't realize that the original design had Liberty with wings, but that was scrapped due to technical limitations at the time.

It would have been beautiful!

I think they should reintroduce the coin with Liberty having wings. I think it would be a huge success.

It would be cool!

@thebighigg, the HiQ Smart Bot has recognized your request (1/2) and will start the voting trail.

In addition, @thebighigg gets !PIZZA from @hiq.redaktion.

For further questions, check out https://hiq-hive.com or join our Discord. And don't forget to vote HiQs fucking Witness! 😻

You received an upvote of 41% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

Thanks you ssg-community!

No Silverd510 has a twelve days of Christmas wish list….. I started this 5 years ago.
But that’s a nice wish list item.👍

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @trumpman! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus
- @dhedge.leo
- @dhedge.pob
- @dhedge.cent
- @dhedge.neoxag
- @dhedge.waiv
- @dhedge.alive

@trumpman has 11 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@thehockeyfan-at(5/5) tipped @thebighigg

Oddly enough,the $50 1 troy oz. American Gold Eagle coin was on my Wish list only to find out my Mom owns one.
I've always admired this coin from afar.

 5 months ago  Reveal Comment

You were definitely green!