Sort:  

well that might be the nerdiest thing i've ever read related to coffee

hahaha right?! I love teaching shit no one needs to know

100ml of water is roughly 100 grams so that's the mass we want to heat. Now, The specific heat capacity of water is approximately 4.18 Joules per gram per degree Celsius. I have no idea what that is in Fahrenheit so dont ask :P

My water will start at room temperature which, right now is around 20 ºC. That means we need to heat it up from that temperature to around 100 ºC, which is when it starts to boil.

So, we can calculate how much energy we need using this formula:

Q = m * c * ΔT

Where:
Q is the heat energy
m is the mass of the water
c is the specific heat capacity of water
ΔT is the change in temperature

That will become:

Q = 100 * 4.18 * (100-20)

Q = 33440 J

I'm using a common domestic stove for that so we will assume it has a heating power of around 1000 Watts.

Using the definition of power we can determine how long it would take to heat our 100g of water from 20 to 100 ºC

time = Energy divided by Power or t = Q/P

That will be 33440 J / 1000 W which equals roughly 33.44 seconds. Assuming it will take another 30 to 40 seconds for the water to go through the moka pot and turn into coffee and adding some time to account for uncertainty...

I would say it's gonna take roughly 2 to 2.5 minutes for my coffee to be ready. So that's the time I will have to thread once I get everything set up.

So, there you go! The nerdiest cup of coffee you have ever seen!