How I made $1500 investing $500 in NFT crypto game over 15 days

in LeoFinance2 years ago (edited)

woman-outdoors-street-coffee-shop-cafe-sitting-with-laptop-pc-computer-hold-bitcoin-metal-coin-golden-color.jpg

Hello! I'm sharing my expirience with crypto investments that I made over past 15 days.

As a disclamer: it's just my story of lucky success and must not be treated as a financial advice by any means! I might just got lucky and the same results for everyone are not guaranteed. Crypto is volatile and risky. Always Do Your Own Research before investing in crypto!

I'm just a person who has interest in crypto especially in NFT crypto games.

How my crypto journey even began

I have 5-9 usual office work that has nothing to do with investments, trading or crypto. In spare time I bought and completed Web Developer course that I could earn more money with freelance deals making sites and landing pages.
That path brought me to Web3, blockchain and smart contracts. I looked into it as a developer at first. And after some time I was hooked and started look into crypto as an investment with big payouts and big risks.

My first crypto investments

As I looked into NFT GameFi projects I thought that it might make me and my family some extra money for little time investment. My first NFT game was Gods Unchained but at that time gas fees on Etherium allready were costly enough so I dropped it and I regret it cuz of the airdrop that happened in November 2021.

image.png

Well I haven't got enough time and understanding in possibilities back then... so no one can always know what will happen in few months right?
Then Axie Infinity mass adoption happened and it blowed many minds including mine.
I had a serious conversation with my family and got myself into my first NFT crypto game.

image.png

These are my current Axies worth arount 0.26 Eth.

The more the bigger

That was a very fortunate time to start cuz Binance implemented Ronin network support that means I could transfer SLP from the game into my Binance account with mucm much MUCH smaller gas fees than on Etherium network.
I started to look for another NFT crypto games around and found Splinterlands. The entry was only $10 so it was a very easy decision. Splinterlands gives the opportunity to play and earn with no owned cards thanks to a rental system. And the game rewards players with cards every single day!

DailyRewards_2.PNG

For about a month I swapped SLP for SPS (Splintershards - governance token of Splinterlands) and staked it all in the game. So staking it makes me some passive income that I could withdraw or restake.

image.png

So I was playing 2 NFT crypto games. I invested some tokens in Splinterlands. So a thought is there any other ways to earn in crypto games and found one for myself.

How I actually made $1000 pure profit out of NFT gaming project

While GameFI is on the rise at the same time as a bull market mooning there's a lot of NFT blockchain games appear on a radar. I saw a project that already exist on mobile devices as a regular mobile F2P game with donation system. The game that looks like very successful Brawl Stars - Hero Strike.

image.png

And the same dev team making a blockchain version of the game with a brand new name - Thetan Arena. On November 15th there was a public limited box sale - 1 box of any quality per 1 wallet.

image.png

The 1st sale was over in 4 hours (that took so long cuz of some technical issues). I got myself an Epic box for $200 BUSD and pulled a common hero with mythical skin.

image.png

I already sold it so the above is just a screenshot of a random one on the market atm. But more about sales and profits a little bit later in this post.
With success of the 1st public sale dev announced 2nd public sale that happened in few days.
On this 2nd sale I decided to not try my luck again but just buy the hero I'd like to play with for a reasonable price. I wanted an Epic hero with rare or better skin (rarity of skins apply a multiplier to P2E rewards as stated in game's Whitepapper). My choise was - Lucy Muffy.

image.png

This is a screenshot taken on another same hero on market atm cuz I sold it too already.
So after 1st public sale there were to much heroes on the market and price dumped a lot. But right before 2nd sale started prices slowly began growing up and up. I was able to buy Lucy Muffy $300 equivalent in WBNB and decided to hold the first one Big Papa with mythical skin untill release of the game.

So the day has come and right after timer hit zero prices on heroes went crazy and skyrocketed so much. That I was able to sell my Big Papa Santa robot for 0.74 WBNB minus market fee.
After that I logged into the game, competed tutorial and played 1 game with my girl Lucy Muffy. Then went onto the game's site and tried to claim rewards.

image.png

It turned out to require at least 750 gTHC. I calculated that with 50% winrate (9 wins a day) 99 gTHC a day it'll take 8 days to gather enough gTHC to be claimed.

image.png

And with such a strong downtrend for THC token I decided that it's not worth my time and effort to play the game. In just 1 day after games release prices gone really down and that's not the bottom I guess, cuz listing price for THC was $0.12.
I looked at market and saw how prices on rare heroes started to decrease. I managed to sell my Lucy Muffy for 1.84 wBNB minus market fee.

image.png

So in total with these 2 sales I made about 2.5 WBNB worth around $1500. (I swapped all the WBNB to BNB and left some small amount on my metamask for transaction fees with BSC) I spent $500 to buy a box and a hero. The pure profit is about $1000.

image.png

That's how floor prices look like for Epic heroes with Rare or better skins a day after game release.

Conclusion and some tips to remember in future

I got lucky to get in on low prices and get out with good enough prices for profit.
I believe key points for my success are as follows:

  • It was a working project even before the blockchain implementation
  • The project has really big and trusted investors
  • Project completed closed alpha and beta tests
  • There are a lot of videos about the game with gameplay captured during alpha and beta tests
  • Team succeed to make good marketing campaign that attracted a lot of players/investors
  • Tha game and the site have appealing visuals
  • I was able to try to play the actual game in 1st hour past game release
  • I was able to analise current situation with game's P2E token and market prices for heroes falling down
  • I was able to fast discuss the situation with my family and make a reasonable decision to fix the profit backed by my family members

Thank you very much for your time.
Hope that my story was entertaining and maybe even useful for you!
I have more to tell about NFT games I play and crypto investments I running right now and planning to do in future.
Follow me on my crypto journey.

People photo created by ViDIstudio - www.freepik.com

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Damn, what a great story! It's the kind of story that inspires others, that's great mate, I hope we all do so well with our first investment in the world of NFTs, they're fucking interesting!

Thanks! I'm happy with the results but keep clear mind because crypto is a risky thing so one should always have a calm head to make reasonable decisions to not lose money

It is the wave of the future. Congratulations on your success.

As always, apply sound risk management to what you are doing. That said, there are a lot of opportunities cropping up.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta