Hive Community Town Hall #3 ; Thoughts on Reward Pool, Downvotes and Witness Activity!

in LeoFinance6 months ago

I'm quite happy all the conversation in this episode of the community town hall was touched and opinions were shared, In support or Not. All conversation in this episode was so damn hot to be honest and while I learned a lot from all the speakers, I also have my thoughts on what is really going on with the reward pool, downvotes and the likes. Just an honest thought about the topics though. OfCourse I enjoyed the takes of other speakers more than the others, I mean I'm in support of other speakers more than others. It's just how it is really!
I enjoyed Deaane Mathew's take on the space ,she spoke a lot about how Hive is helping lives and how no other system or platform is doing this which is actually giving Hive the value it deserves and needs. She also mentioned about if layer 2 tokens are ready to take on the responsibility of being the rewarder of contents on Hive after some layer 2 token exchanges have crashed or stopped working recently. Like there's not much effort put into making all the layer 2 tokens to make it an avenue to reward creators except in the case of Leo token,SpS and some other tokens. She pretty much said a lot but this are the important ones I found really intriguing and interesting to talk about.

I will be taking the topics one by one. Highlighting them and sharing my honest opinions about them. Let's get into it.

REWARD POOL!

We are all conversant or know about the idea behind the reward pool right but hearing about other people's take on getting the reward pool removed and moved to layer 2 tokens and according to what I heard, it is to fight people who create AI content creators, who spam the blockchain with several posts. While I'm not in total support of creating with AI, I believe a valid AI content that brings value to Hive should be allowed right! While the spammy ones should be dealt with one way or the other. And If at all AI content is totally not allowed. I have a notable solution I've been thinking about that can solve this. I know It might take a lot of effort but I believe we are all willing to put in the effort to make the system better.

In the Publish a post space in the blockchain and all dapps connected to it, I believe it is possible to integrate a system whereby when one is about to publish a post, the system could review if it is AI generated or written, this way a lot of AI contents can be filtered and only organic posts will be published and integrated in the blockchain, as I've said earlier this is just a thought and this can only be integrated if AI contents are not needed at all.

Downvotes!

I don't really have issues with downvotes but I still have some thoughts to drop on it.While it is a decentralized system and I believe downvotes are a way to curb some activities for example the case of spamming. Downvotes are essential here to equalize the votes and deter wasting of upvotes for contents that are not worth it.
Also I believe if there is no substantial need to use downvotes to curb something that degrades the value of the blockchain I believe there is no need to use it at all, so we won't lose people who will actually bring value to Hive. Downvotes is one way to curb AI and all but the misuses of it in other cases are totally not good.

Witness Activity!

Witnesses' activity on the blockade are what is giving the blockchain value and solving some little problems that might arise and also to make the blockchain a better place for its users and investors etc.
I believe witnesses activity are good and their work in all is to better develop and grow the blockchain.

That's pretty much my thoughts on all of topics talked about. Let me know what you think about this in the comments.

Cheers🥂 and see you in my next post!

Posted Using InLeo Alpha