My Bank Wants to 'Gaslight' Me!

in LeoFinance7 months ago

I made this purchase via a PayPal account connected to my debit card.

In June, my bank said the refund was not settled for an unknown reason.

In August, my bank said the merchant never sent a refund, and I should contact PayPal.

In September, my bank assured me that a PURCHASE was never made. They insist no money left my account because the transaction was declined.

Oddly, I have transaction numbers from PayPal and an apology email from the merchant stating the purchased service was not available.

The merchant offered store credit OR a refund. I selected the latter. (I wish I didn't).

Within moments, the refund to my debit card was reflected in my PayPal dashboard.

However, without a public ledger, I have no way to prove funds left my account.

****It is my word against my bank's.****

They are the judge, jury, and executioner because all transactions are on their centrally owned and controlled database.

These are the same people that tell us to be wary of crypto.

My banking options are limited in Jamaica, so raising hell over this transaction probably isn't the wisest move, but it makes me love crypto even more.

Keeping the status quo is not an option.

Posted Using LeoFinance Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @tropicvibes! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 700 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the September PUM Winners
Feedback from the October Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - September 2023 Winners List