๐ŸŒ™๐ŸŒ Selene The Moon Goddess (20 Drachmai, 1960) ๐ŸŒ๐ŸŒ™

in LeoFinance โ€ข 20 days ago

As I mentioned in my yesterday's post I have been doing some hunting on Facebook market to see if I could score some nice silver deals.

So, yesterday I got for myself two ottoman coins from an old lady. And today I met with a middle aged man, I'd say around early 50s and scored another two little identical beauties.

This is a coin I have shown you a couple of times in the past and it used to be amongst my favorite when I was stacking since it's common and cheap.

Let's take a look ๐Ÿ˜

Messenger_creation_bd7647d0-a233-4751-9870-fe2288b6cf5a.jpeg

Messenger_creation_99aa78fe-7bfc-4826-9529-21ff0d917d11.jpeg

Two, 20 drachmai coins from 1960. Each coin weights 7.5 g and is made of 0.825 silver giving us a combined pure silver weight of 12.375 g. Today's spot price per g is 0.9$ so these two little beauties have a melting value of about 11 $ which is exactly what I paid for, so I think I did well โ˜บ๏ธ

In case you wonder, on the obverse we have King Paul I of Greece who reigned from 1 April 1947 until his death on 6 March 1964. The Greek text on this side translates "Paul I King of the Greeks". And we also have the date the coin was issued, 1960.

Messenger_creation_dc457188-7f5f-4177-8d4b-16e484085132.jpeg

Messenger_creation_ecef584f-83a3-4786-98e2-bda3adb056e4.jpeg

Messenger_creation_007fb0d7-4fe9-4083-9330-1d65554c07ee.jpeg

The other side features Selene on a horse and the denomination, 20 drachmai.

Selene was a minor goddess in Greek mythology and a sister to Helios, the sun god. Essentially a personification of the moon. No wonder, selene (ฯƒฮตฮปฮฎฮฝฮท) is also one of the Greek words for Moon

In ancient Greek mythology and religion, Selene is the goddess and personification of the Moon. Also known as Mene, she is traditionally the daughter of the Titans Hyperion and Theia, and sister of the sun god Helios and the dawn goddess Eos. She drives her moon chariot across the heavens. Several lovers are attributed to her in various myths, including Zeus, Pan, and the mortal Endymion. source

If you take a closer look on the coin you will also spot a dolphin in the bottom, indicating how Selene is rising with her horse chariot from the sea :) ๐Ÿฌ

These coins also feature an engraved edge

Messenger_creation_face72de-fab7-4acd-965a-3653990b34b5.jpeg

It reads

ฮ’ฮ‘ฮฃฮ™ฮ›ฮ•ฮ™ฮŸฮ ฮคฮ—ฮฃ ฮ•ฮ›ฮ›ฮ‘ฮ”ฮŸฮฃ 1960

For

Kingdom of Greece 1960

Pretty self explanatory!



All in all, I scored one of my favorite stacking pieces for spot price. Can't get any better than than ๐Ÿ˜†

In other news, I just finished ordering some more silver pieces from my main go-to source and I am super excited since I managed to also score one of those monetary oddities I have talked about in the past. And not only that, but I got it for 30% down than what it usually goes on eBay โ˜บ๏ธ

Can't wait to show it off!

Ok plebs, this is it for today. See you soon with more silver ๐ŸŽ‰





Fun Numismatics Posts
Enjoyed the post? Here is some more fun silver/numismatics themed content I have written in the past I think you will enjoy:

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort: ย 

I have a couple of those, too! Love them! ๐Ÿ™‚

Awesome! Just remember only the 1960-65 are silver!

Wow, you've been on a roll in your stacking ๐Ÿ˜‚

Tried Facebook market looking for some coins and it seems it isn't as possible in my country.

I really hope that I won't have to start my stacking by shopping from overseas ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ

Aren't there any local shops over there?

Naaaa

Coin keeping and stuff is sort of a Western hobby ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

Although I'm still searching, here's to hoping it's not extremely overpriced...

Nice grabs. Canโ€™t wait to see what you got coming in.
!pimp

It's a really fun piece ๐Ÿ˜

Nice score! Those must have been beautiful coins when they were fresh out of the mint. Great silver
!BBH

They sure were. Thanks ๐Ÿ˜

@trumpman! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @thebighigg. (2/50)

nice commodities

๐Ÿ˜„

Getting things cheap is always nice. Just make sure you aren't scammed by a counterfeit because its more likely to happen there.

Indeed, can never be too careful!

Cool coins at a good price. Sweet!

๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

Very nice, @trumpman!!!
!BBH

Thanks for the tip ๐Ÿ˜

@trumpman! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @silversaver888. (1/20)

Very nice !BBH !LOL

๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

@trumpman! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @bitcoinman. (9/50)

What do you say to comfort a friend who's struggling with grammar?
There, their, they're.

Credit: reddit
@trumpman, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of bitcoinman

(3/10)
ENTER @WIN.HIVE'S DAILY DRAW AND WIN HIVE!

You received an upvote of 88% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

https://inleo.io/threads/trumpman/re-trumpman-yjdcbacq
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( trumpman ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Congratulations @trumpman! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 61000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 62000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP