¼ Gulden, Netherlands East Indies (1941)

in LeoFinance2 years ago

A couple days ago I shared one of my silver coins, a ⅒ Gulden from the Netherlands East Indies, figured to share today something from the same place and era, a ¼ Gulden from 1941.

But first a quick reminder on the Netherlands East Indies:

The Dutch East Indies, also known as the Netherlands East-Indies was a Dutch colony consisting of what is now Indonesia. It was formed from the nationalised trading posts of the Dutch East India Company, which came under the administration of the Dutch government in 1800 [source](https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dutch_East_Indies]

First a couple photos:

received_601785637960704.jpeg

received_1517263615356120.jpeg

received_822173062522860.jpeg

As you can see below, the ¼ Gulden has exactly the same design with the ⅒ Gulden, the only difference is essentially the size:

received_1328134337716927.jpeg

received_5190077004444262.jpeg

Feel free to click here to check my previous post for more info on the weird letters!

When it comes to composition, this sweet baby is 3.18 g of 0.720 silver and 0.280 copper, so a total of 2.226 grams of silver.

And a final size comparison with a standard euro coin:

received_586131292955235.jpeg

received_1230774974417627.jpeg

For now, these are the only coins I own from the Netherlands East Indies, but I have more from other dutch colonies. I have already posted some and there are more to come soon!

Stack on!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Very interesting denominations they got going first I see such a thing I will surely need to pick some up eventually

They are pretty cheap :)

I'm going to look into it I joined some Facebook groups and stuff but I don't really trust it I really want to get a tool to check metals but it's around 20k cad and that's fairly steep but I think I'm going to get it eventually it's going to be so beautiful I will be able to conduct business with peace

Such a great coins. Wonderful to see.
Thanks for sharing.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Its exquisite design resembles the Greek and Spanish designs.

Yes! Slow but sure!!

why no South Indies ?

Cause your mom is fat

mom geopolitics

Wow, first time in my life I see these weird ass coins! I didn't even knew about Dutch east Indies, definitely worth a Google search.

Yeah I got to know them from these coins too!

Very nice. These obscure ones are some of the best.

You received an upvote of 92% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Such a beauty, stack on!

!LUV

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The Netherlands East Indies coin are awesome. I prefer the smaller ones though. Which of them is more valuable?

This ccoin is really nice with the lovely design to beautify it.

Very obscure design but still cool.👍

A great coin, stack up with many Silvers !

And I was looking forward to seeing the 1/2 and 1 Gulden to finish this set. Perhaps someday in the future we will see this set filled out.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Really nice! I always wonder in my mind through which hands these kinds of coins went during their existence. Thanks for sharing :)

Beautiful coin, mostly made of silver. The strange thing is the first writing, I thought it was an Arabic piece

It look less weighted in the image compared to how it is in real life been hold on

Hey just curious, how did you collect all these interesting coins? When I was young, I did try to collect some coins. But realise they are more of coins from currencies around the world rather than rare coins, meaning that i only have coins of places that I’ve been to or my relatives have been to. Any idea where I can go around and collect more of such vintage?

I think a seashell fits the theme for those colonies/islands.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks again for sharing the Treasure and ways of storing the value, in real World Coin Money, @trumpman.

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment