Sexy Acorns!

in LeoFinance2 years ago

As you may know if you pay attention to my posts, I recently acquired these two sexy 6 pences from 1930 & 1931:

received_463499522542705.jpeg

received_821122242491154.jpeg

When it comes to silver, these coins are nothing special. Just 2.83 g of 0.500 silver per piece.

Anyways, that's not what I want to talk about!

What immediately peaked my interest in them was the beautiful engraving on the back that I had never seen before, featuring three oak sprigs with six acorns:

received_654181586364152.jpeg

I did some googling but unfortunately I couldn't find much info about this specific symbol. Is it for examplea coat of arms, a hour sigil or what? No clue.

However it seems like oaks and acorns are generally considered a symbol honor, wisdom, virility and shit like that:

The oak is often associated with honor, nobility, and wisdom thanks to its size and longevity. Oaks can easily live longer than 300 years making them a powerful life affirming symbol. The acorn is a symbol of growth and unlimited potential. source

The acorn, as a seed, is a symbol of growth and unlimited potential. It possess the “oak knowledge” – or all that it needs within to create the mighty oak. The acorn teaches us about our own potential – how one acorn can grow into a massive oak and seed a whole forest. source

If you happen t know any specifics about this particular engraving, its exact symbolism or even the artist behind it please let me know in the comments, I'd love to know more!

Ok, I leave you now, have to follow the whole FTT drama. The shit show has only began and it's gonna only get better ! 🍿🍿 😂😂😂😂

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

You don't hold your acorns...

...then you don't own those acorns.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Lmao, so cute

This almost makes a good meme.

@monsterjamgold is the one to ask, I bet he would know.
!PIMP

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta


You must be killin' it out here!
@summertooth just slapped you with 1.000 PIMP, @trumpman.
You earned 1.000 PIMP for the strong hand.
They're getting a workout and slapped 1/1 possible people today.

pimp_logo


Read about some PIMP Shit or Look for the PIMP District


Hey @summertooth, here is a little bit of BEER from @trumpman for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Great gravings on the back of the coin which looks to me like a chaotic forest of trees, but somehow symmetric overall.

I'm old enough to remember spending these! We used to call them tanners or sixpenny bits.

Some info:

https://onlinecoin.club/Coins/CoinType/United_Kingdom/Sixpence_Oak_Sprigs/

Oh nice, I'll check it out thanks!

image.png
"The oak is often associated with honor, nobility, and wisdom thanks to its size and longevity. Oaks can easily live longer than 300 years making them a powerful life affirming symbol. The acorn is a symbol of growth and unlimited potential"

Ai hits it!

Nice!

Copy and paste the text. I mean the result is for that not bad :D

This is the "zero creativity way" to comment!

Maybe they're not acorns.. maybe they're headless snowmen..

Oh god 😅😅

FTT drama ? is it a crypto thing ?

Yeah, its the new Luna

ohhhh spicy :)

Damm those are rares coins!

Not really, pretty common actually!

The first one looks so brown you'll doubt if it's silver. It's attractive, whew!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I pooped on it!

😅😅😅

A great selection of coins. Excellent for stacking !

The engravings looks so nice though 😂

I can explain to you is that there are six oak sprigs and six acorns to symbolize a six pence. The three pence only has three of each. The oak sprigs are revered symbols and the acorn is for fertility.

Ok, I'll start eating acorns?

Very nice , I hope I stumble on some at my local shop

acorns are generally considered a symbol honor, wisdom, virility and shit like that:

But are those acorns from a rhyming tree?

Nice coins. I think it's supposed to represent some vegetation and silver is silver regardless.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Well, I miss the old days when the coin posts were about sexy ladies and stuff! Great oak btw 😂
!PIZZA

You got an old dude this time, even better!

You received an upvote of 100% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

The coin really look so nice and there's no doubt about that.

I found these pictures informative, I haven't seen engraved pences before now.
They are so lovely.

I just did some research now about the engraving, it simply mean growth and unlimited border (You are very correct)

Thank you for sharing this amazing pictures

Sexy and beautiful coins as always and I always love them being sexy.

These coins are unique

The back is really beautiful and Have seen this before like when I was a kid "Two Rupees" Coin in my country have a similar design but can't be as classy as 1931.

Gotta find that coin if exist and will show it here!!!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @trumpman ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 131 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
4

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@lofone(1/5) tipped @trumpman (x1)

Join us in Discord!

interesting friend, and referring to the symbol of the oak so it is, denotes strength and firmness, confidence, protection and others, it is even used, for example in ancient Greece and its mythology, the oak was a sacred tree for Zeus, as it was taken into account as a symbol of justice and moral rectitude, It is also said that the club of Hercules was made of oak wood, if the symbolism is linked to ancient myths and if I'm not wrong is symbolized in the currency that way to refer to the monetary unit of the united kingdom, in fact also formerly to abbreviate was denoted with a (d) that referred to the denarius.

Thanks again, for sharing the real Silver Money, @trumpman.