Share your coin challenge- Old and Precious.....

in LeoFinancelast year (edited)

Another week, another coin challenge by @welshstacker !

This time the theme is.. "OLD & PRECIOUS"

Share your "OLD & PRECIOUS" coins and potentially

share an original photo of your coin

tell the back story of where, when and how much you paid

tell me if youre happy with the purchase and what first drew you to the coin.

Do you have any anecdotes, fun facts or personal stories around this coin? Please share

Without much thought, the first two coins that pop in my mind are these two little beauties:

received_634894041373534.jpeg

received_794493072034625.jpeg

A 2.50 and a 5 Portuguese escudos from the 1940s. Honestly, they are not that old but I like how the boat on the front and the Portuguese shield on the back give a pirate like vibe. Both are 0.650 silver, the small weighs 3.5 g and the big one 7. There's also a 10 escudos coin that I will eventually add to my collection!

Here's a size comparison with a modern euro coin:

received_629947088678379.jpeg

There's not a really interesting story to share about these two, other than I got em close to spot price due to their shitty condition 😂

Now that I think of it...I have a really old piece that is even more pirate like !

received_1024139992288644.jpeg

received_637449674410745.jpeg

A 2 reales from 1723 that has definitely seen better days! Someone even used it as jewellery at some point 😂😂

Here's how the coin would look like if it was in better condition:

Screenshot_20230509-215723~2.pngsource

Again, no special story about the coin. Just something I got super cheap due to its poor condition!

And that concludes my submission! Don't forget to check the original post by @welshstacker and participate if you have something old and cool to share!

Posted Using LeoFinance Alpha

Sort:  

the real story behind these coins is that Pirates were known to hide these coins up their asses. notice the shit brown tinge , especially prevalent on the right hand side coin.

untitled.gif

Woah! Now it makes sense!!!!

epic :)))

Damn! What a story 😂

That coin is on my list to buy. Now I gotta find one….

Good luck fren ❤️

I can't get enough of the boat coins, a nice pair! :)

⛵⛵⛵

It was the cute little boats that drew me to them.
image.png
I've renamed these silver ships; Saint Marie, Nunavut, and the Pinto.🔥

Hahaha! Your reales look even shittier than mine 😂😂😂

But they were cheap.

Cheap is good ❤️

Hmmm.... I have the exact same ship coins ones, @trumpman! We think alike!!!

marry me!

But.... you're already married!!!

Noone is perfect!

https://leofinance.io/threads/view/thetimetravelerz/re-leothreads-2554jsaf3
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( thetimetravelerz ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

Reales are always awesome even when they've been beaten to hell! Some very cool coins!

You received an upvote of 99% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Thank you for contributing more great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag.
You have created a Precious Gem!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 155 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!LUV
12

Congratulations @trumpman! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 72000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 74000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

All these coins looks so beautiful and amazing. You seem to be a huge silver fan like me, that's why you have collected such old and wonderful coins.

Damn that 1723 looks like it's in pretty good condition for such an old coin I need me an oldy like that

Cool coins. Cheap is good when we're talking silver, eh?

This coins are so nice and beautiful which I must confess.

I may or may not have even older silver coins but that's a no no in my shitty country

Ships and pirates are amazing. Poor condition or not, they are cool.

Okay. I'll find something special for your coins.... Thinking hard 🤔

Haa... Nothing is forthcoming ... Lol.

Well, getting them cheap because of their looks is actually a special thing.... In my opinion 😉

Should it be of silver or it could be any coin?

Pirate Ship design on that coin looks Awesome!

The front looks more like royal one.