You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When was the last time you checked your witness votes? Was it the Steem/Hive hard fork? Or Never?

in LeoFinance2 years ago

See, for that post and each one since, I’ve typed and deleted at least three long responses. I never posted one though, because I didn’t want voicing my support to cost me the support of others. The opportunity to make money for my posts (and the fear of damaging that potential) was almost enough to keep me silent - particularly because I tend to post pretty benign shit - but in truth like I said, the biggest appeal when I came here was the ability for people to speak freely. My content isn’t under attack now, but if I stay silent while yours is, there will be no one to help when it comes for me, and while I don’t post anything controversial or counter-fuckery, I love basking in the brilliant work of others such as yourself that does exactly that. So I have every reason to stand in support.

Safety in numbers. Theres a lot more people just like you. I myself started bringing up these issues earlier this year and didnt talk about it too much before. It is the elephant in the roon.

The main question is this:

Is the Ethos of Hive people getting along and earning crypto for posting content, or is it the whim of a few millionaires who get to decide if you earn or not. I sincerely hope we can all move forward and ideological downvoting comes to an end and we can just focus on growing the chain.

Sort:  

I’m on board! I don’t care nearly as much about profiting from my content as I do about sharing it and getting conversations started. And I care less about both of those things than I do about protecting free speech and information, so really I’m disappointed in myself for having ever questioned it, but I’m going to give myself a hug, say “It’s ok buddy, you’re here now, so don’t beat yourself up,” and I’m going to say “be damned” to anyone who chooses to stop socializing with me because I take a stand for free speech. You push a man of peace too deep into a corner, and you knight him into a man of action. This is bigger than Hive.

Thanks for your response and encouragement :)

🧙‍♂️ Ksapa hwo!

That's a very respectable position. I hope current events helps those who were complacent in the past to come to a similar revelation.

Thanks - I hope so too! :)