You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: LeoThread 2024-03-05 14:32

in LeoFinance3 months ago

No idea if open source, but it could allow some sets, like no more of this, more of that, show these topics, authors... have a set of options to play with and train it.

In terms of promoting premium users it probably will have to ignore the manual sets, because then it will probably show less than what the algorithm will pick and the idea is not to hide anyone, or maybe there can be a Premium Feed.

To see specific users there is following and lists... to see specific topics there is tags, probably selecting several tags as favorites could be part of what is shown on the for you, etc.

I imagine me doing the configuration for myself and probably I will end up seeing way less that what the algo shows, I'll be shadowbanning everyone.

How would you like for-you to work?

Sort:  

I'd like mine to ignore people who pay to be visible :) The most interesting person I met on Threads is likely never going to subscribe. With the algorithm on and 10k users, I'd likely miss them.

I'd prefer not to rely on somebody's best guess what I'd like. Even if I ended up shadowbanning everyone. Then it is my fault/decision/bubble. Still better than if it does Facebook, X or Inleo on my behalf. Besides, qui custodiet ipsos custodes when it comes to (dis)approving what I want/should see?

😅 That sounds kind of unreasonable to be honest.

That said, if you stay on the tab "following" or go to "lists", you will only see what you want. There are tools already that give you that kind of control so no need to make an algorithm based tab to work on manual settings.

There is also tags (and if they add favorite tags that would be way better)to control the topics.

If the other options didn't exist I'll agree 100%

And actually, I think if that single person really interest you and you interact with them, the algorithm will likely show you them, I see the non-premium I have interacted with all the time, since the algorithm includes premium users but is not limited to them.

You see the non-premiums as there's like 250 subscribers, many rather inactive. Imagine 10k users. Or 100k users, when 10k of them are premium. The premiums are promised to have priority. I am not a native speaker, yet I understand it as they'll be shown first - that's what priority means. Where's the space for non-premium interesting users I haven't interacted with yet among the tens premiums I've chitchat a bit?

This conversation would likely end up in you seeing my threads and me seeing yours on the top - we're both premiums and we've exchanged like 6 comments or so. That's more than average I'd say, especially when you take into consideration their lenght. Do we really care about the other's Threads and content? Honestly and with all respect, I've never really noted yours, even though I speak a bit of Spanish and engage with some hispanohablantes on Hive. I guess it's mutual. Yet you may start occupying my feed now and vice versa. Sorry for boring you in advance :)

Even with 10k users, its enough to have decent variety and prioritize people enough to reach a possible audience, and distribute the views, not the 1k to everyone. Better than boosting where you are watching recipes and all of the sudden a boosted content about cars shows up.

If 10k/10k go premium it will be like:

🤣🤣🤣

And at the end, if you don't care about other's content, nothing can be done to make a feed "perfect"

I got too caught up on the topic, I don't even know how it will turn haha but it is interesting to see what others think.

2/2

Let's see how the algo works, anyways. Thank you for your time and for the discussion.

I guess I'll meet some of you-managed accounts around every now and then :)

Hahaha don't worry, I don't really thread much because I work with several accounts that are not mine, so mine is getting the less activity 😅 the odds are not in my favor.

As far as I know the idea for the algo ( I don't think it is fully trained yet either) is to always mix up things, in order to always have place for non-premium users, Premium users, the ones you already interact with and new ones, so if you scroll, you will see variety. The priority in this case means they will always be in the mix, and premium users will always be the ones showing on top but not even one full scroll down you will see other users.

And it's also supposed to stop showing something you already saw, so very time you refresh it should show something new.

1/2