You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sunk costs and skin in the game

in LeoFinance4 years ago

Hey Taraz,

Back in 2017 I joined the crypto-scene during the hype with a decent amount of money. I had no idea what I was doing from an investment-approach. Crpto was at an all time high, and I heard about it on the national radio. I started doing my research and got enthousiastic about all the different projects I came across. I was (and still am) convinced that blockchain-technology has the power to change the future.

So I put my money where my mouth was, for the first time in my life. I had never invested in assets, funds, had a complete lack of knowlegde how markets behave. I strated to follow these tradeview-analists and completely lost myself in the bullrun the was happening. A few months later I had 10% of my investment left and I felt like a complete dumbo. But at the same time, it was the price I had to pay to start understanding markets and Warren Buffet's saying about there's money to be made when there"s blood on the street.

I decided I was in for the long run and refused to take my losses. I never sold any of my positions and saw my money evaporate and slowly coming back during the last months. When ETH (the project i'm the most invested in) and BAT were at their low points in March I decided to increase my position once again. I I thought ETH was worth 1300$ two years ago, why shouldn't I buy it at 135$? I learned to look at the markets in a more rational way.

So now the crypto-markets are slowly recovering. For all I know it might take us another two, three years to reach a new ATH, but I'm still very convinced that crypto is here to stay. So I'll wait it out, strap on and enjoy the ride as long as we can.

Sort:  

I learned to look at the markets in a more rational way.

And (I don't know your age) for the rest of your life you will have a different perspective than most people on markets, as well as a different relationship with money. There is massive value in that and perhaps it takes the hard lessons to reach the conclusions that shift action. A lot of people play the markets in their head and think they have an understanding - if there is no action, it is a waste of time.

For all I know it might take us another two, three years to reach a new ATH, but I'm still very convinced that crypto is here to stay.

If your investment portfolio went 10-20x in 5 years, would you be upset?