Why all Cryptocurrency Communities should allocate Revenue for Charity

in LeoFinance4 years ago

I am aware that at the creation of a cryptocurrency and coin/token, a percentage of the token supply are sometimes allocated for team members, marketing and community development. I wish to add that there should be a conscious provision for charity donations. Charity in this case should be targeted to the non-crypto community and involves giving out free "liquid" coins/tokens to those who would want to create their first cryptocurrency account so they would make a first sale (no matter hoe tiny) to see the useability of cryptocurrency.

I can remember that even when I was told before joining steem that I could earn from my contents, I never took my referrer for serious. This is because I had use social-media (Facebook and Twitter) for about 10 years before joining Steem but I never had earned from it. Being told that I would earn from my contents on a social platform sounded just like a bait to have me signup. However, I signed up because there was other features on steem that had earned my interest.

I met a young person few days ago who is a tertiary school student but presently looking for a job due to the prolonged covid holiday. While I told him about Hive and how he could socialize to raise some earnings, he told me that his engagement on Facebook is possible through "free mode". We are all aware of Mark's Africa Smart strategy to keep people perpetually in bondage of making money for him while they earn valueless likes. This is achieved by allowing Faceook users (from Africa) to make posts and like posts on Faceook without having data subscription with a module called Free mode.

Users on Facebook free mode would make posts and chat but are unable to see their pictures and pictures of others posted. They users think it's a favour from Mark and are gladly live their whole day on Facebook. I do not know if this feature is available for other countries/continents.

Making allocations for charity on Crypto communities could help to provide new users with "free data" to enable them engage the blockchain in their first few days. Thinking this could enhance an internet provider company joining the crypto sphere so as to offer internet data to such new users on receipt of the "charity tokens" unlocked.

I'm aware that foe new users on Hive blockchain, Resource credits are given them to aid their free transactions on the chain in addition to delegation by some DApps such as Hiveonboard. The idea with "charity token allocations" by communities is to help all Hive communities to be involved in the account creation operations.

Aside from on-chain charity donations, non-crypto users receiving "free" gifts branded with blockchain and cryptocurrency communities has a way building a consciousness that cryptocurrency is actually useable and can also serve the purpose that fiat currency presently does.

On the Hive blockchain, I advocate that charity is a means to reaching to those who do not consider cryptocurrency as a worthwhile investment. Many schooled people are uneducated when it comes to blockchain technology and cryptography and do think its one of those scams around.

This is why I intend to incorporate charity in all community-based promotional and marketing initiatives that I will engage for the Hive communities that I am investing in their tokens - LEO, SPORTS, CHARY, LIST, CTP, HUSTLER, NEOXAG and many more to be added to the portfolio.

Meanwhile, Chary.org is a Hive community that is piloting charity on the Hive blockchain. @achimmertens created the community with the CHARY token to reward humanitarian activities carried out bu Hivians. The token is presently worth $0.016 and 20 of the tokens can buy an exercise book for a child in Nigeria which is what @Hiveaid pilots to undertake.

Posted Using LeoFinance