You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Small To Large Business

in LeoFinance6 months ago

I have never been very good at investing until I found cryptos.

In December 2011 I bought 200 Bitcoins for US$1400. My wife told me that I would lose my money, but if I earned CAD$10,000, I would owe her a cruise!

Three weeks later, I sold 50 Bitcoins for US$1500, so I got my money back. Then, in 2013 I sold 10 BTCs for CAD$10,000. So, I owed my wife a cruise, but we never decided when to take this cruise. I still owed her a cruise!

Unfortunately, I left most of my BTCs on MtGOX, so I lost them in 2014. As the MyGOX saga is finally ending, I will soon get some BTCs (around 4, I believe) in 2014.

I invested again in cryptos in November 2016, including STEEMit. I bought different crypto tokens for CAD$47,000. In 2018, I sold some NEO (I had bought 1,000 at US$0.7 each when they were called AntShares) to get my money back. Then, I sold more and I got CAD$100,000. That helped me to buy the apartment we are living in now mortgage-free.

in 2021, I sold more crypto for CAD$500,000. I distributed half of it to my children and grandchildren.

I still have plenty of cryptos. I sold my STEEMs to buy HIVEs and I never sold any HIVE. This is the reason why my initial 17,000 STEEMs are now more than 400K Hives.

Sort:  

My wife told me that I would lose my money, but if I earned CAD$10,000, I would owe her a cruise!

:D

Unfortunately, I left most of my BTCs on MtGOX, so I lost them in 2014. As the MyGOX saga is finally ending, I will soon get some BTCs (around 4, I believe) in 2014.

That sucks, but at the same time, at least there is something coming back. MtGox was before my time in crypto, but I had the "opportunity" to buy in 2010/11, but couldn't work out how to do it, so let it slide - sliding doors.

You have made some very good moves! I wish that I had been more willing to sell at the highs, as I have been a holder and have yet to use any of my crypto in "real life" at all. I came into Steem at the start of 2017 and have worked my way to where I am now. I bought a little here and there too, but most of it is through sweat equity. It has been a lot of work, but I like being able to work for ownership, especially when I didn't have the money to invest directly.

What has been invaluable through Hive has been the view into the strategies of many people, and the chance to practice and learn along the way. While there are a lot of negatives in some areas, the core people of Hive tend to be decent people with good experience. I think this is also whey the decent content contributors on Hive, also tend to be the ones who have some real world experience, families, have traveled, worked multiple jobs, lived.

I like Hive :)

I like Hive :)

Me Too!