This is the year of the airdrops! | My experience with two of them

in LeoFinance13 days ago

This seems to be a great year to participate in as many projects as possible that offer an airdrop as a reward for performing certain tasks. Many of these tasks are closely related to social engagement, as it is through this medium that we give publicity to the project and also increase the hype surrounding it.

There will obviously be different ways to obtain airdrop rewards, such as using a testnet to fully test the functions of a web 3.0-connected blockchain technology-based platform. These are known as activities, and how much we use each section being developed depends on them, so we may encounter errors along the way.



Guilherme Garcia | Unsplash


To be honest, last year I didn't have much luck or success with it. I had followed every instruction to the letter to carry out the tests. However, time passed and I didn't see the fruits of the dedication I was putting into it. I thought that maybe I should invest a large amount of money to be considered for the airdrops, but that didn't make sense knowing that we were talking about a testnet, where you were supposed to receive test tokens to work with.

It took a year to finally find projects that gave me hope that this airdrop opportunity was possible for an ordinary person like me. I mean, I'm not one of those people who own dozens of NFTs worth thousands of dollars or have a hefty account to invest in large quantities. Although I don't rule out that in the future, life might surprise me with something similar and I just need to know how to navigate it and make the best possible decisions.

This year I have had success in two airdrops, and I have particularly closely followed each of the updates that were made through social media. I believe that gave me the opportunity to take advantage, as one had to secure their position and ensure that the airdrop would occur and reach its destination.



Image created using leonardo.ai


I usually try to thoroughly research a project, especially if it is unique enough to trust it. Yes, it's about trust, as there are also scam projects that can make us have a bad time. I believe the golden checkmark in X is one of the first things we should consider. Nibiru had it, and that was what gave me the confidence to take the next step.

I also tried to see who was behind the project and how far they had come to reflect its importance. Nibiru presents itself as a layer 1 blockchain, focused on decentralized finance (defi), RWAs, and some other things that they will be developing from now on (which means their ecosystem is starting to expand). For this reason, I wanted to get involved in the project, at least through this avenue they were offering regarding activities in X.

Although there were some inconveniences, everything went very well, and I received a portion of the token allocation. This means that the Nibiru team sets aside a certain amount of tokens to distribute among different groups. In this case, they allocated 1.5 trillion $NIBI tokens among the community, investors, and public sale. We can see this situation in the following image, which I believe will be necessary to understand a bit more.



If I am correct, one part was directed towards the community, although it was also possible to participate in the public sale. In my case, I received a significantly good airdrop considering that it was only social tasks in which I invested time and patience (as there were repeated bugs on the site and it was being modified over and over again, having to reconnect our networks so they can take the snapshot and qualify us). The fact that the tasks were saved as a record in X meant that if that account was banned, we would lose all points, which is why I avoided overloading my account so it would not be considered as spam/bot.



I received a total of 79 NIBI, which were distributed in two parts, one of 43.94 NIBI and the rest to be claimed progressively in the following two months. Additionally, I had previously been sent an airdrop of 10 NIBI to cover network fees, where in this case, gas is the token NIBI itself.

The mainnet launch has been very good despite an expected price drop by the community. When it was launched, the price rose to $0.96, but today it can be found at $0.37, which in my opinion is not bad at all considering the growth potential it may have in the future. They have also enabled staking, although in this case it works somewhat differently and a validator must be selected from the many available.



The truth is that I have not yet dared to take this action, as I am afraid of not being able to unstake the funds that I deposit on the validator. However, if I consider that learning is much more important in my discovery of these technologies; obviously I should take the initiative to move forward in this and understand how it really works.

Another airdrop where I was successful was Eesee. A project dedicated to the world of NFTs, which also had its own token. On that occasion, I had to test the platform through the testnet, and I must admit that many functions had errors, so there were missions that were not completed. Unfortunately, time was a factor that caused those errors to transfer to the mainnet for not having solved them at the time.



We had several blockchains available such as Polygon, Ethereum, and also the one that I consider to be the most recent of all; Blast. I had to learn a bit about this network, and during the process, I found out that MetaMask supported it for being an ethereum virtual machine (evm) network, although even so, few exchanges supported it, so if I wanted to withdraw the funds, I had to go through many maneuvers that could end up with the tokens being stuck somewhere (for example, using a bridge). The gas issue was another factor I had to consider, so for now, I preferred to keep them in my wallet, waiting for an exchange to list the tokens on the Blast network (both the blockchain's inclusion and the token listing have to happen).

The token price has dropped significantly from $0.17 to $0.09. And as I have mentioned on more than one occasion, we have to stay invested in others and not sell something that could be worth a lot in the future. Turning our gaze elsewhere could make us lose focus.

The truth is that these two successful opportunities could allow me to further advance in upcoming airdrops. Especially being able to participate in those that require investing either to contribute to liquidity pools, to test the new bridges implemented, or to engage in other activities that help improve the functions being developed in that project. And most importantly, to try out new technologies being built that imply a definitive revolution. Let's continue!


  • I used Canva to edit the main image.
  • I have translated from Spanish to English with Hive Translator.
  • Captures made from Nibiru and Eesee site.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha