BATTLE MAGE SECRETS Weekly Challenge! EVEN STEVENS......

in LeoFinance11 months ago (edited)

Screenshot_20230526_200028_Chrome.jpg

In my continued effort to bring you low quality, repetitive, cyclical, drivel on a weekly basis, in a change from the precious metals related rhetoric i usually bang on about, i now offer to you my loyal followers, a bang average #splinterlands blog.

Without much thought, or deep contemplation, ill be sharing with you few brave souls that have taken the time to read this post, my weekly BATTLE MAGE SECRETS Weekly Challenge!. The "share your battle" challange has ended, where the @splinterlands team asked you to share a battle with a specific monster, and now its more about a specific ruleset. This new weekly challenge definitely has its upside, as it allows a wider audience to take part, even when their battle decks are limited.

Screenshot_20230526_200013_Chrome.jpg

This week, the team over at #splinterlands has asked us to share a battle with the ruleset "EVEN STEVENS". As the name suggests, all monsters taking part in the battle MUST "cost" an even number of MANA.....

This ruleset, can completely flip a battle on its head! Conventional battle plans go straightnout the window, it also creates a whole new style of play. It basically cuts the number of available monsters in half! If you rely on any odd mana costing monsters, then youre screwed, as you wont be able to use them

Lots of players have their favourite splinters and within that splinter, players have their favourite/go to monsters. If youre unable to play them because of their ODD mana costs, it can cause some serious rethinks to strategies, game play and lineups.

Lets go play #splinterlands...... Its not like you can pick and choose the rulesets for every battle! After playing what seemed like my full allocation of 50 battles, i finally came across the ruleset i was waiting for:

Screenshot_20230526_155403_Brave.jpg

But doing what #splinterlands does best, they threw a spanner in the works by adding two additional ruleset alongside Even Stevens just to mess with my mind and really get me thinking.

BRIAR PATCH: All monster have the thorns ability.

TARGET PRACTICE: All ranged and magic monster have the snipe ability.

Taking these rulesets in to consideration and the summoner choices available to me, I actually decided that for this specific battle, with these specific ruleset, I would pick my tried and tested LVL5 ALRIC STORMBRINGER to use some pretty hard hitting water splinter monsters. My thinking is that there are a lot of even mana costing magic cards available to me, and by selecting an all magic lineup, I can avoid any extra damage from the thorns ruleset nownin play also.

Screenshot_20230526_155441_Brave.jpg

Since the snipe ruleset is in play, you would think that the placement of weaker monsters in the tank position could be justified, but with ample mana to spare (55), I could fully stock my battle line-up with the best possible set up i could think up at rhe time. As my opponents monsters will automatically target using snipe, its still best to have a high health monster in the second slot of your lineup. I was spoilt for choice with monsters, if truth be told, and my tank (lvl 5 Prysmatic energy) and second placeed monster (lvl 2 Djinn Oshannus) could have easily traded places. Choosing to put my Djin there, simply becasuse of his speed, void and Phase ability, which I believed would give me the best chance to dodge and absorb a few attacks early on.

Screenshot_20230526_155516_Brave.jpg
Watch the battle HERE

Once the two teams are revealed, I always have a quick look at my opponents set up, before hitting rumble. I like to playout in my head how i think the battle will unfold. I try and predict what i think the outcome may be, and judge how well my opponents have set up thier team.

From the get-go i noticed that this was going to be a very difficult battle. Whilst my monsters had what looked like the attack points advantage, my opponent looked to have the advantage with his summoner advantage of additional extra speed. My magic attacks would negate his additional shielding, but with small margins for error, its often teams that strike first inevitably go on to win the battle.

Our summoners gave their battle abilities, and his speed gained a +1, as i said the additional shielding gained was pointless, and his ARKAMIS was basically wasted mana.... My Spirit miner and Ruler of the seas gave me +2 speed (+1 &+1), my Gold Foil Phantom reduced his melee attacks by 1, and the battle was good to go

With its "taunt" from his WAVE BROOD taking all the ealry round damage , my magic attacks made ligbt work of monster. I hoped that my monsters with their "thorns" ability would help, and as he had some melee attack monsters lurking in his ranks, extra famage was dished out every time he successfully attacked.

Screenshot_20230526_201551_Brave.jpg

The battle started as I expected. My magic attack monsters making short work of his wave brood and causing general havoc..... I took first blood, and round 2 got under way, it staryed to look ominous for me at this point. We exchanged monsters, he lost his Djinn and I lost my ruler of the sea.

Screenshot_20230526_202602_Brave.jpg

In a single round the damage was done and there was no going back now. Victory looked certain and would be just a round or 2 away.

Screenshot_20230526_202630_Brave.jpg

There was no stopping my magic attacks now. The end was in sight and there was nothing that could stop me from blasing my way to a resounding victory.

Screenshot_20230526_155601_Brave.jpg

Whilst the victory came pretty easy in the end, if a few missed attacks hadnt have happened, this certainly could have gone differently.

Actually...... using the SPLINTERTOOL page, the battle wasnt as close as originally thought. Turns out there was no way i was going to lose or would ever lose with this set-up.

Screenshot_20230526_195703_Chrome.jpg

Would you have picked a different team/combonation? If so let me knownin the comments below.

Screenshot_20230322_215939_Chrome.jpg

If you dont own any precious metals, then why not tell us? As a community we encourage ALL engagements and encourage everyone to take the plunge and own at lease a sinlge ounce of silver or a fraction of gold. If your struggleing to find a safe and secure place to buy, reach out to the community as there is always someone willing to offer their time and advice to help you out.

Screenshot_20220214-214651_Chrome.jpg

40+yr old, trying to shift a few pounds and sharing his efforsts on the blockchain. Come find me on STRAVA or actifit, and we can keep each other motivated .

Screenshot_20211227-214606_Chrome.jpg

Proud member of #teamuk. Teamuk is a tag for all UK residents, ex-pats or anyone currently staying here to use and get a daily upvote from the community. While the community actively encourages users of the platform to post and use the tag, remember that it is for UK members only.

Come join the community over on the discord channel- HERE

Want to find out more about gold and silver? Get the latest news, guides and information by following the best community on the blockchain - #silvergoldstackers. We're a group of like minded precious metal stackers that love to chat, share ideas and spread the word about the benefits of "stacking". Please feel free to leave a comment below or join us in the community page, or on discord.

Screenshot_20211019-213209_Chrome.jpg

Sort:  

You received an upvote of 99% from Precious the Silver Mermaid!

Please remember to contribute great content to the #SilverGoldStackers tag to create another Precious Gem.


Do you know you can win a Chaos Legion pack and many other things just by following some simple steps ?? Check out our Latest Daily Showcase and Participate our latest Giveaway. Thanks

SPLBDVoter.gif

DELEGATE HIVE POWER TO BDVOTER & EARN HIVE DAILY.

FOLLOW OUR HIVE AUTO CURATION TRAIL & CHECKOUT OUR HIVE BLOG & TWITTER PAGE FOR DAILY CURATION REPORT

Thanks for sharing! - @alokkumar121