NBA Topshot Is Getting A Game!

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I'm getting pretty hyped over this Topshot product and I don't even have any cards yet :p. Although I lean towards more geeky collectables I do appreciate the sport of Basketball and the talent that these players have. You can really see the athleticism with a one-handed dunk over a player who is six feet tall. The NBA Topshot collectables captures those amazing moments and puts them in NFT form. You can then collect them or trade/sell them with if you want. But soon there will also be a game called Hardcourt where you can use your NFT cards to power up your starting line-up.

What Is Topshot?

Topshot is an officially NBA sponsored online collectable card site. You can buy packs that are limited and inside are moments in NBA history. The moment has a clip of something incredible that happened in game like a dunk or a game winning three. There are commons and rare ones. There are some which have already sold for a lot of money. I plan on getting a pack or two to check it out but right now there is only ones with common cards left. They run for $12 each.

Hardcourt

I do not know what hardcourt will be but the site says you can use your moments to give your starting line-up superpowers. I'm guessing you will have 5 players and you can use your NBA moments to give them perks. It would be cool if it was like a fantasy league and you can use your cards to get bonuses while you play the fantasy league. This would give the NFTs more value outside of collecting. I think this is already a thing for Soccer on a site called sorare.

NFT collecting is still new and I don't know where it will go. But I do miss the excitement of buying a pack of cards when I was young and seeing what was inside. This is something I will check out at the right price. I will not be buying any 26k Lebron cards anytime soon but I do want to play the game when it comes out. Even if I have 5 commons that are players who spend most of the time on the bench :p.

I'm also keeping an eye out if other NFT brands come out like Marvel or other geeky ones.

Anyone collecting these?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

What blockchain is this going to run on or is it not a blockchain based game? I haven't heard of this one at all. I know Topps has some agreements with WAX so I would have guessed this would be on there. I also know that Marvel has teamed up with WAX so if there is going to be anything coming out in that genre, it will definitely be on the WAX chain.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I don't know, all I know is the cards are on Eth.

Glad you messaged, I'm looking to get into some Wax. I want to try Alien Worlds. It says I need a cloud wallet, is that the common wallet for wax?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, there are two different kinds of wallets for WAX. There is the wallet where you account ends with .waa that is the traditional EOS style wallet that requires Scatter or Anchor. Then there is the Wax Cloud Wallet that is the same account name but it ends in .wam That one you can use an email address or social media account to create and log into. It makes it easier for the general public to start using the chain versus private/public keys and all of that. I'd turn on 2FA though just to add an extra layer. I have quite a number of Alien Worlds cards. I even own some land. I have been pulling in TLM and mining some NFT's for a couple of weeks now.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Thanks. I need to get one, maybe I'll try the cloud one.

How is the roi looking on Alien Worlds?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It is hard to say right now. I am not sure the in game token TLM has any actual value right now. I know that some people who bought the land packs are selling that land for big prices on the auction market. I spent about $120 on my land and I could probably get $1000 (total) for the four pieces I own if I put them on the market.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Speaking of NFTs I wonder if the ethereum crypto kitties are as valuable as they once were

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Funny you mention that I saw something about them the other day. They are still being traded and the band Muse now has crypto Kitties made for them. But their volume isn't what it was when the game started.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

They always seemed cringe to me, even though I like cats in real life

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I usually stay away from eth based NFT’s. They are way too expensive.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I hear you, there is art that is going for 20k a pop USD. It's insane.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The increase in the value of the gas and the prices of commissions per transaction, keep us away from the low budgets of ETH's games because the profits go in commissions.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Gas fees is really a problem right now I hope gets fixed soon.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I've gotta look into getting some of these. I love the idea that they're little clips of certain plays. That's like what we dreamed about our cards being in the future when we were collecting as kids.

The resale market on rare physical basketball cards is as strong as ever. NFTs are probably going to take a while to become normalised, but there's no doubting that the right cards are going to be valuable.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I have been watching a little bit close by.

I am very interested to see what kind of game they are going to release, if these NFTs will be used in the game and with what use.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'm guessing it would be a fantasy league and the moments would give bonuses to your points. Like maybe 1.2x for the number of assists for that player. But time will tell.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta